Month: April 2008

  • The Verdict

    The NYPD officers who murdered Sean Bell were found to be not guilty of all charges today.

     

    For those who’ve not been following this story, plain clothes NYPD cops were undercover investigating a prostitution ring at a strip club in November of 2006. It just so happened that Sean Bell and his friends were out at the club for Sean’s bachelor party. Boys. Strippers. Booze. The cops, inexplicably, proceeded to shoot 50 bullets into Mr. Bell’s body. The cause? Black. Rowdy. He must be violent, right?

     

    There are those who say that Mr. Bell’s death is not an issue of race. Two of the cops who riddled this man’s body with bullets were “of color” (God, I hate that phrase—what does it even mean, anyhow?!). But the fact is this: the police system is dominated by white men. The officers, while not blameless, are working within a racist system. There promotion, survival, and job security depends on them acting just like the good ole boys. While I can’t pretend that I know the motivations of men who needlessly fire 50 bullets into another man’s body, I cannot pretend that this verdict, this act of violence, is not racially motivated. This violence—this sick and symptomatic violence—would never happen to a pack of white boys out on the town.

     

    I can’t stop thinking of Sean Bell’s fiancé. Hearing today’s verdict must have made her feel as if her groom died all over again.

     

    Click here for the NY Times article.

    Click here for the Village Voice article.

     

    Little known fact: You can get up to 30 days in jail for calling an officer a pig. Meanwhile, they can shoot 50 bullets into your body to no consequence.

  • Springtime Q&A

    I had the day off today! From both jobs! I can scarcely believe it! Shaun is off covering the NYC comic convention, so I had the whole day to myself. I went to the optomitrist (I’m fresh out of contacts), walked in the park, read in the sun, bought fresh bread at the farmers’ market, and napped.  It was  extra warm outside today–in the 80′s easy.  To the great amusement of the Spanish-speaking men in my neighborhood, I wore shorts for the first time this year.

    I also whipped up a new blog about a weekend escape to Connecticut. Check it out at Naptime in the City That Never Sleeps. Last, but certainly not least, I answered burning questions posed by my Xanga peeps. Answers are below. Follow-up questions welcome.

    Q.)
    ThinLizzy17 asks: Where do you hope you’ll eventually land?  If you close your eyes and think about “home,” where will that turn out to be?

    A.) When I close my eyes and think about home, here are a few things that leap to mind, in no particular order:

    1.) The dead of winter 2003. 6pm. A weekday in our second Chicago apartment, a truly horrible one. There’s no insulation and an upstairs bathtub will fall through the sagging kitchen ceiling any day now. I’ve been home, bundled in about ten sweaters to keep warm and using the same tea bag to make countless cups of tea; I am writing. Everything is quiet. Dusk settles. Shaun comes home from work. “Hey,” he calls. I take my teacup to the sink and meet him in the hall. I kiss his face in greeting. His skin is cold. I am warmer than I thought. The cat meows, underfoot.

    2.) Tail end of July. Hot. Swagger-some. I’m home for the summer from my first year at college. I didn’t know it at the time, but it was to be the last time in my life I would live at home, near my family, in that Michigan town. It was also to be the last time my family bore any resemblance to the structure I’d grown accustomed to. I was working two jobs to save up for the school year. A sandwich shop clerk in the day and a waitress at night. My legs and lower back were always sore.

    I drove a hot little red sports car. I always kept a bikini and towel in the back-seat, just in case the opportunity of lake swimming arose. My diet primarily consisted of soft serve ice cream cones. I was working on a short film and reading a lot of Hemmingway.

    One day, I had enough time between shifts to head up to our family’s yellow cottage on Big Lake. It was only about 20 minutes away from my family’s home. The key sat perched on a rafter above the front porch. I let myself in and changed into my swimsuit. I perched a boom box in the back window and blared a Travis cd. I headed down to the water with a yellow inner-tube and a library copy of Garden of Eden. Carefully perching the book atop the tube, I swam out to the end of the dock. With one foot anchoring me and the other left to the nibbles of minnows, I laid back on the tube and read the afternoon away. When the canopy of leaf shadows stretched long and met me in the water, I swam in and went to work. This was before cell phones, before unplugging became a hard thing to do.

    3.) An itchy, too-tight, short-in-the-arms, gray woolen sweater that I stole from my mom.

    4.) The way the altitude of my grandparent’s Colorado mountain home pushes the lids from half gallon cartons of ice cream; bursting columns of Tiramisu-Swirl. Also in their home: racks of snowshoes. Shelves of hiking boots. Whipped butter in a countertop pot. A hallway photo gallery of family history. A crouching, almond-eyed African fertility statue made of wood. Apricots.

    5.) Biking to work on Chicago’s lake shore path. Morning. Lake. Glorious.

    6.) Lake Michigan sand dunes, friends, and campfire.

    I look forward to having a home that includes/provides feasible access to 90% of the elements I’ve listed above. I look forward to living in a place where my mom, brothers, and best friend are no further than a short-ish Amtrak ride away. I can’t wait to settle down in Chicago. Theres an attitude, economy, and cultural sector there that work for us. Best of all: it feels good to be there.

    When I’m teaching someday, and a mother, I look forward to spending big chunks of summer in Michigan. Shaun will either do his writing from there or visit us on weekends. Because July should be spent with family, preferably by a lake.

    Q.) Secret Life of Pandas asks: If you had one image of yourself that you would have people remember, what would it be?

    A.)

    Q.) mydogischelsea asks: Where is your favorite place to write?

    A.) Mainly, my kitchen table or desk. No music. No bra. No makeup. Phone off. Crunchy carrots and ice water on hand.

    I also love the library-feel of Alliance Bakery, although it has the misfortune of being in Chicago’s Wicker Park (a poor neighborhood, turned artsy-hip, then promptly overpriced and yuppified). But the WiFi is free and they bake fresh mini-loaves of whole-grain and give you a whole tub of hummus to dip it in. Great coffee, too. The staff leaves you alone to write, even if you only buy one cuppa and stay writing for ages, which is what most people there seem to be doing.

    Journaling takes place outdoors, in parks, on subways, on boulders I stop to rest on during a hike. Multi-media stuff (I like to make collage/text thingies) is strictly at my desk, with a cup of tea nearby.

    Q.) Boowasborn asks: Has your and Shaun’s experiences with NYC been different? If so, how has it been different?

    A.) Our experiences are always different and expressed differently. Shaun is a brooder; I’m a giant exclamation mark. Words fly from my mouth, accessible and loud. Shaun chews on words for longer, savors them, is careful and conservative with them. He often takes longer before judging a situation–its an internalized process that unfolds in his head. I feel any given situation with my entire body and my gut knows in an instant what I think and feel about it. There is bad and good in both of our approaches. Its a yin-yang thing.

    So does Shaun hate our life here in NYC too? Yes. But our reasoning is different much of the time.

    For example, while he thinks everything is gray and uniformly hideous here, I think everything is a vomit of circus color and grotesquely disturbing in very unique ways. Ultimately though, we both can’t bear it here because of how wholly unsustainable it is emotionally and financially. Plus, while Shaun’s had great success working the connections he needs to for the business of writing, he really struggles to find the time, energy, and comfort to generate new fiction in NYC. This is a problem unique to the pace a person needs to keep to survive in this town.

    We both take huge comfort in knowing that we’re doing what we came here to do and leaving. All the freelancing that he’s been doing, he walks away with. The agent, the editorial contacts–he keeps those. As for me: I get to walk away with a whole new cast of characters, a whole new setting. I get to walk away with all the things I’ve learned about myself during our time here. I get to know exactly what my limits look like. I get to know the intimate details of the NYC behind the town’s grandiose myths. We took what we could, a midnight raid, and soon we’ll be back in a place comfy enough (emotionally and finically) to create new work again.  Plus, we’ve made cool friends here. And we both need all the friends I can get in this world.
    ______________________________________________________________________________
    Don’t forget to go to Naptime!

  • New Naptime and Other Bits

    Last night, I coughed up a little blog for Naptime in the City That Never Sleeps: click here to read about the geography of my NYC hood.

    In other news, life has been less jagged lately. I’ve been running a very hilly 4.5 mile route about 4 times a week. The running isn’t giving me the usual burst of joy that it usually does, but it has given me just enough energy to get through my very long, two job days. Not as much energy as I’m used to, but I am thankful just to make it through here.

    I also got a yoga tape after something a colleague mentioned last week. She said that science is finally acknowledging that the digestive system has a nervous system onto itself, making it like a second brain. Ever had a “gut feeling?” That’s your intestines thinking. I don’t know about you, but my belly is definitely smarter than that pink, wrinkly loaf in my head. Anyhow, I’ve been doing the yoga tape because when I’m twisting my torso I like to imagine I’m wringing a serotonin-soaked sponge, releasing any bits of happiness hiding away in the gore of me.

    The best thing I’ve been up to, though, is fresh coconuts. They are in season! I bake a whole, hairy nut for 20 minutes on 250 before hammering a screwdriver into its eye. Delicious juice drains from the socket before the other eye is knocked out, cracking the shell. It is satisfyingly violent. Last Sunday I made coconut pancakes with ginger syrup, topped with bananas. I now have a lifetime supply of potassium coursing through my veins.

    I’ve also been getting myself ready for my exodus. Living situations have been coordinated. Moving help has been scheduled. Financial ducks know what they are supposed to do to get in their rows. Choice jobs have been carefully selected and applied to. An outpouring of support has come from my friends and family. I’ve never really asked for help before. There’s always been some shame involved it it for me, some feeling that I would impose if I needed anything. But as soon as I mentioned my predicament, I had friends calling regularly to make sure I was okay, friends offering to share Chicago apartments with me, family offering their trucks and manpower to help me move. I feel very loved and very lucky.

    In the meantime, I just keep my eye on the prize, breathing through it. In May, we go back to Michigan for a visit. In June, Shaun’s parents are coming to NYC for a visit. In July, our friends Dan and Bryony will be out for a visit. And then, exodus.

    I signed up to volunteer at a fun run for disabled youth this Saturday, before I’m off to work a book event. I’m not yet sure what I’ll be helping with, but I’m excited to put myself to good use and meet some new, nice people. Tonight I’m working a book event for a very famous television journalist with a new autobiography out.

    ThinLizzy is doing a cool blog where she opens up her comments section to questions and will spend a blog answering them. I can’t wait to read her answers. And I think this idea sounds fun. I think I will steal it. So: write a question in my comments and I will answer them all in a big blog. Interview!

    I’ve also been working on a photography project. A Scottish friend of mine curates an annual amateur photography show. Participants take a photo every day for the entire month of April. Usually, I go into creative endeavors with concrete themes and ideas I’m itching to express. But my creativity is tapped at the moment, so I’m just taking pictures of things that catch my eye every day and will lay them all out at the end to pick my 30 and see what theme emerges on its own. I’ve also learned that I HATE taking pictures in crowds, which is basically everywhere in New York. Most of my photos are of quiet, hidden places. I guess I seek them out here more than I realize. I’ll post the pics once the series is complete.

    Xanga has been quiet lately. I hope everyone is well.
     __________________________________________________________
    So: what questions have you got for me?