April 10, 2008

  • New Naptime and Other Bits

    Last night, I coughed up a little blog for Naptime in the City That Never Sleeps: click here to read about the geography of my NYC hood.

    In other news, life has been less jagged lately. I’ve been running a very hilly 4.5 mile route about 4 times a week. The running isn’t giving me the usual burst of joy that it usually does, but it has given me just enough energy to get through my very long, two job days. Not as much energy as I’m used to, but I am thankful just to make it through here.

    I also got a yoga tape after something a colleague mentioned last week. She said that science is finally acknowledging that the digestive system has a nervous system onto itself, making it like a second brain. Ever had a “gut feeling?” That’s your intestines thinking. I don’t know about you, but my belly is definitely smarter than that pink, wrinkly loaf in my head. Anyhow, I’ve been doing the yoga tape because when I’m twisting my torso I like to imagine I’m wringing a serotonin-soaked sponge, releasing any bits of happiness hiding away in the gore of me.

    The best thing I’ve been up to, though, is fresh coconuts. They are in season! I bake a whole, hairy nut for 20 minutes on 250 before hammering a screwdriver into its eye. Delicious juice drains from the socket before the other eye is knocked out, cracking the shell. It is satisfyingly violent. Last Sunday I made coconut pancakes with ginger syrup, topped with bananas. I now have a lifetime supply of potassium coursing through my veins.

    I’ve also been getting myself ready for my exodus. Living situations have been coordinated. Moving help has been scheduled. Financial ducks know what they are supposed to do to get in their rows. Choice jobs have been carefully selected and applied to. An outpouring of support has come from my friends and family. I’ve never really asked for help before. There’s always been some shame involved it it for me, some feeling that I would impose if I needed anything. But as soon as I mentioned my predicament, I had friends calling regularly to make sure I was okay, friends offering to share Chicago apartments with me, family offering their trucks and manpower to help me move. I feel very loved and very lucky.

    In the meantime, I just keep my eye on the prize, breathing through it. In May, we go back to Michigan for a visit. In June, Shaun’s parents are coming to NYC for a visit. In July, our friends Dan and Bryony will be out for a visit. And then, exodus.

    I signed up to volunteer at a fun run for disabled youth this Saturday, before I’m off to work a book event. I’m not yet sure what I’ll be helping with, but I’m excited to put myself to good use and meet some new, nice people. Tonight I’m working a book event for a very famous television journalist with a new autobiography out.

    ThinLizzy is doing a cool blog where she opens up her comments section to questions and will spend a blog answering them. I can’t wait to read her answers. And I think this idea sounds fun. I think I will steal it. So: write a question in my comments and I will answer them all in a big blog. Interview!

    I’ve also been working on a photography project. A Scottish friend of mine curates an annual amateur photography show. Participants take a photo every day for the entire month of April. Usually, I go into creative endeavors with concrete themes and ideas I’m itching to express. But my creativity is tapped at the moment, so I’m just taking pictures of things that catch my eye every day and will lay them all out at the end to pick my 30 and see what theme emerges on its own. I’ve also learned that I HATE taking pictures in crowds, which is basically everywhere in New York. Most of my photos are of quiet, hidden places. I guess I seek them out here more than I realize. I’ll post the pics once the series is complete.

    Xanga has been quiet lately. I hope everyone is well.
     __________________________________________________________
    So: what questions have you got for me?


Comments (6)

  • Here’s my question for you: Where do you hope you’ll eventually land?  If you close your eyes and think about “home,” where will that turn out to be?
    I’m way inspired by your use of coconuts.  I love coconut – maybe BF and I will get one this weekend and see what we can do with it!

  • Ooh coconuts!!! Those pancakes sound delicious!  At Penang in chinatown they have these huge juicy ones that are just fabulous!anywho my question for you would be this                         -If you had one image of yourself that you would have people remember, what would it be?

  • I hope everything is OK. Sounds like there may be some rough times ahead. Know that we’re here for you, for whatever that’s worth.I’m sorry you’re leaving New York—but at the same time, I fully understand. I moved as far away as I possibly could without leaving the country.My question is…. Where is your favorite place to write?

  • I love the idea that the digestive system is now being considered that way. I think other systems have a part as well. The Dalai Lama has been presenting some ideas to mix neuroscience and buddhist thought. I may have an article for you later this week. Kids are scouring for current events there as he is our last stop on ethical foundations.Yay to ducks knowing where to go and family and friends helping out! I know very well how that feeling can twist a bit when asking for help.  Usually, I understand that it is a way to allow people to be a part of your life. It is a sweet admission an a learning experience, but darned if it doesn’t sometimes feel like you’re waiting on the principal’s bench to be scolded.It will be fun to find out where you land. I have to go to Naptime tomorrow. I am intrigued by that kind of thing.Hmmm. Let’s see. This might beintrusive or hard but I’ll give it a go. You can always ignore it!  Has your and Shaun’s experiences with NYC been different? r how has it been different.It is interesting tome when people who love each other become closer and understand things differently when they  both grow in different ways. Especially creative people. It can be a very rewarding and bonding thing.

  • Oh ryc: You hit the nail on the head! I almost wrote that at one point in a very short blog :If you can’t say anything nice …But then just gave it a rest because really saying that is the same as admitting you have something negative to say and I had to let some stuff go.The hair is just a different flip. I tried another direction. Sometimes those small things can symbolize change is coming or maybe it is just my hope!

  • ps – i didn’t see an easy way to drop a note to you here. i remember happen-chance sitting next to you on a train from St. Louis and your words of encouragement to go further with my education and I’ll have my bfa in moving image arts this may :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *