April 25, 2008

  • The Verdict

    The NYPD officers who murdered Sean Bell were found to be not guilty of all charges today.

     

    For those who’ve not been following this story, plain clothes NYPD cops were undercover investigating a prostitution ring at a strip club in November of 2006. It just so happened that Sean Bell and his friends were out at the club for Sean’s bachelor party. Boys. Strippers. Booze. The cops, inexplicably, proceeded to shoot 50 bullets into Mr. Bell’s body. The cause? Black. Rowdy. He must be violent, right?

     

    There are those who say that Mr. Bell’s death is not an issue of race. Two of the cops who riddled this man’s body with bullets were “of color” (God, I hate that phrase—what does it even mean, anyhow?!). But the fact is this: the police system is dominated by white men. The officers, while not blameless, are working within a racist system. There promotion, survival, and job security depends on them acting just like the good ole boys. While I can’t pretend that I know the motivations of men who needlessly fire 50 bullets into another man’s body, I cannot pretend that this verdict, this act of violence, is not racially motivated. This violence—this sick and symptomatic violence—would never happen to a pack of white boys out on the town.

     

    I can’t stop thinking of Sean Bell’s fiancé. Hearing today’s verdict must have made her feel as if her groom died all over again.

     

    Click here for the NY Times article.

    Click here for the Village Voice article.

     

    Little known fact: You can get up to 30 days in jail for calling an officer a pig. Meanwhile, they can shoot 50 bullets into your body to no consequence.

Comments (3)

  • “Of Color” I used it to mean anyone who is not white as directed to do in politically correct college courses; however, it was just a stab at white people. They have no color of course. Ha! That’s why I use black or get more specific with kids.  There is a certain kind of gluttony to name changing, but no matter what it’s not going to fill the void or make up for anything. I was told that sometimes black cops are the most racist against black males. That it is a stage many go through psychologically.  It seems kind of weird that they say it isn’t a matter of race to me. Related tangent: I just got a note from my sub for Wednesday when I was at a conference, that read, “What is up with your black students? If you find out tell me and we’ll tell the world. Smile.”  He’s a great sub. He’s black too. And the class he was talking about has some white sneaky hooligans in it that he didn’t notice. One of the white boys papers was lodged in my ceiling. None of the white boys’ names were written down but two of the black boys’ were. This is not unusual. If the sub were a white female  I would suspect the white and light skinned females would have been the focus. It’s a weird thing, but in way when in a position of authority often a race and gender is harder on reflections of itself than anyone else. I catch myself being more strict with the females all the time. It’s an on going battle to make sure I’m being fair.I hope that racism wasn’t the case but 50 bullets is nonsense. I have shit for aim and I could take down someone in less than 50 shots. But I’d have to read the stories and I will.  So sad.  That poor family and fiance.We can now edit comments! Yay!

  • I read a bit more and there was something in the Times today too. It seems like the testimony of the prosecution’s witnesses damned the whole thing. I didn’t know Bell was a dealer, but that didn’t color my opinion about it except that dealers and their friends do carry weapons and do talk a big game. Both things one would think officers would be aware of an not be goaded by. The only thing I do not tend to believe is that the officers were the only ones with weapons. Again, I still don’t think it makes it right.There are two travesties here. One by the police and another deeper one by the community that cannot find a reliable witness to save its ass. The shooting was a failure by the cops, but the trial was a failure too. A bigger one in a way.  Blame for the death seems clear but blame for the verdict lies in a very unpopular place. Bell’s friends for whatever reason let him down. He won’t feel it, but his fiance and mother will and I kind of doubt they will be inviting those men to dinner anytime soon. It’s so complicated. So much of the truth is still unknown by all of the accounts I’ve read and heard so far. Still, I don’t think it would change my mind about it.

  • While I recognize your review is somewhat biased, there’s no denying that race is a HUGE factor in police enforcement and let’s face it, every aspect of rising to and keeping power in this country.  I’m white and live in a black neighborhood, and the way people interact with me and treat me is of constant fascination…. simply because I’m a single white woman living in a traditionally black middle class neighborhood.  And it goes without saying, the police patrol my area night and day, while the predominately white neighborhood down the street is left alone.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *