August 28, 2007

  • Home

    Home smells like nettle tea. Good mail lays scattered beneath the slot: my race pack for the 10K on Sunday, a check. Put on the kettle. Heat up some tatties. Boooong – the computer comes alive. Homecoming emails from Caitcat and Grandpa greet me, make me smile. Charge up the iPod. Update my podcasts; ready for my morning workout.

    Our space is empty, cleared out, ready for our departure, but it is full of us still. Our smell is here. The moon is full tonight and coming through the window. I think it will bring us good things.

    Glasgow is chilly. Old sweatshirt weather. Tomorrow is work and bank and library. Tomorrow is, “welcome back!” and “how was it?” Tomorrow is not the start of limbo. It is real and I see that now.
    _______________________________________________________________________
    What is the first thing you notice when you come home from a long trip?

Comments (4)

  • Generally the first thing I notice is a cat (or, now, cats) waiting for me. Asking where I’ve been but — more likely — if they can have treats. Not a bad thing, though, to be greeted by cuteness.

  • the smell. i really do notice how my space smells like me when i haven’t been here in a while. of course with cats now, i tend to notice them, too because they are excited to see me whether i’ve been gone for 3 hours or 3 days.

  • I always notice what a mess my place is. Always. Hotel rooms might be sterile, but at least they are orderly, and we are anything but.

    I’m confused if you are departing or arriving. I haven’t been keeping up with you and I’m sorry about that. I really am stretched to the max.
    I did check out Story Studio and they said to prepare a course sketch for a journalism class, but of course I can’t think of any way to do this. It’s a nice space with lots of parking, though.

    Lynn

  • Oh, so you’ll be back. Cool. Just in time for winter–hahahaha!
    Great summer we’re having, if you take out the 9,000 thunderstorms. Today was spectacular and they are predicting a completely wonderful weekend. End of summer? Bah! I say keep it going until Sept. 21.

    RYC: They have to invite you into the Vine program. If you do a lot of reviews for Amazon, they should invite you. I was rather surprised they invited me, because I’m reviewer no. 4,000-something. You also could ask; it couldn’t hurt.

    Lynn

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *