August 27, 2007

  • Kickin’ you when you’re down…

    Immediately after leaving the over-priced internet cafe that I wrote the last post in, I felt like a horrible jerk for having dogged on Athens in the midst of its national emergency. People’s lives are lost, charred, and broken and all I can do is complain about the dust? What is wrong with me?!? 

    I can only chalk it up to the exhaustion that sets in at the tail end of travels. The smoke inhalation didn’t help any, either. Also, we didn’t know what was going on for a while. We had no idea that the fire shown on the ferry boat’s bar TV on Friday night (with a report in Greek, of course) was on was ripping its way across the entire land. We assumed it was one, localized fire. Not hundreds. Saturday we were off to the sights bright and early, without flipping on the tube. It wasn’t until the day went on and smokey ash blanketed the city and armed gaurds filed through the streets in riot gear, that I started to get a little freaked. And a little sick from breathing. Was that fire on TV right outside of Athens? We checked into an internet cafe to look it up on BBC. The fire was everywhere. And my reaction was self-centered and resulted in a terrible blog entry. My apologies. My insensitivity was gross and the good people of Greece deserve better than that.

    Anyhow, today as fire fighters from all across the EU fought the blazes, Shaun and I went to the Museum of Cycladic Art to see a contemporary photography and video exhibition. It was curated with such careful thought and the work was fresh and fabulous. One particular piece completely captivated me: True North by British film artist Isaac Julian. If this man’s work tours to a contemporary art museum near you: go see it. You’ll feel clean after. The nestled bits of your brain that have been dozing will wake up.

    This time tomorrow we’ll be back in Glasgow. Four more days in our apartment. Then we’re in our friend’s second bedroom, then house-sitting until my contract is up. Lots of real life, grueling stuff coming up. Saw an online posting for a great job in Chicago. Will be applying as soon as we land. This trip has been beautiful. But I’m starting to get antsy: I’ve got shit to do!

    ______________________________________________________________________________

    Have you ever had a very public, selfish reaction?

Comments (4)

  • Absolutely. I have been openly angry that kids lie when someone dies to get out of school no matter how distantly related if at all. Some read the obits and if they even have a passing knowledge of the name they use it to skip a day. And of course in at least one case I was wrong and the kid really was going to the funeral. Very embarrassing.

    I can understand your reaction and I did not think it so bad. You did not know how huge it was. Shoot, I do not think I have ever heard of such a thing happening in Greece. It’s so unusual and unlikely. who could be prepared for that with the perfect reaction?

    You amaze me with your energy!

  • My public, selfish reactions are things I just assume try not to recall.

    But wow … you really did pick an auspicious time to visit Athens. Not sure how I would react to such a thing.

    And good luck in the job-finding.

  • Hmm, your original reaction was a kind of tourist-in-Athen’s-eye view, which seems pretty reasonable since you were a tourist in Athens.  You were sensitive to the big picture while focusing on your own experience, which is totally reasonable in a blog.

    Verdict: NOT GUILTY.

  • I agree with Michael—your reaction was not selfish and totally fine. I’m loving all of these entries, by the way!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *