May 8, 2005

  • good night, sleep tight, don’t let the bed bugs bite.
    sweet dreams
    bad dreams
    “Who do you think you are?”

    Your girl

    “When I was pregnant with you, I read Mark Twain, I ate cabbage soup
    when you were born, you looked at me and you scowled”
    I scared you

    Holding hands in the car
    “Your dad never changed your diper once when you were a baby”
    baby car
    it was so small we called it that

    Nannar died, grandma moved away
    I only had one mother
    “Tony and I are getting married”
    soon I shared her with two brothers

    Stealing time
    I’d brush my teeth
    While she applied her model-perfect makeup
    “Your posture is horrible. Suck in your gut.”

    Mother knows best.

Comments (9)

  • A nice little tribute … but then you honor her on a regular basis by telling the world how cool she is (such as in your first concert post).

    ryc: True. Like so many other parts of life, freelance assignments are feast or famine. When I have much more time this summer, I probably won’t have any offers, but maybe it’s just as well that I take it easy for a little while. Since I returned for my master’s I haven’t had a summer free of classes.

  • A lot nicer than the poem for my mom I wrote last week. Nice to know some people have nice moms.

  • very nice. Hope everything is well. Peace Out and Take Care.

  • You must have been a really dirty baby if your dad never changed your diaper.  Was he hoping you’d compost?

  • Sunshineboy: Ha! Either I was a filthy monkey or he was a chevanist arse. Take your pick.::smile::

  • Sorry about your dad, but nice thoughts about your mother.

    ryc: Actually, that’s not how we are financing college for my son. It’s how we are getting out of throwing money away on the dorms and still making a profit on investment. Someone estimated that we are getting 9 % return on investment now in our house, so it can only go up in the south Loop where they are building new places like crazy. I swear,in the past I never would go to that area south of the Pacific Garden Mission (you know, south of the Washington Library). It used to be all bums and very scary people. Now, it’s evolved into something quite nice, with parks all around and lots of new construction. Mayor Daley even lives there!

    Lynn

  • RYC: The building is just at State and 9th. The Pacific Garden Mission is in the view, but so is the Sears Tower, that cool tower next to the Sears, the Washington Library (love that building) and a look all the way down State Street. I haven’t seen the view at night but it must be fabulous.
    About the bums: I hear they are doing more to clean up the area and find places for them to stay. Probably because Daley now lives in the area. Nothing like having the mayor nearby to get city services!

    Lynn

  • i can’t think about this day this year… i’m all mopey lately!

  • I’m still laughing about Sunshineboy’s compost joke. Very sweet Mother’s Day entry!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *