May 5, 2008

  • Cat Update and Name Game

    Giles is going to be okay. The vet was *shocked* that the cat survived the fall, let alone survived without a single  broken bone. The impact did incite a hurt kitty mouth, liver trauma, and massive swelling (he is a big bruise beneath his fluff), but we’ve got him on some meds that are designed to take care of that and provide pain relief. The meds have also heavily sedated Giles, forcing him to take it easy. Now he just stares at the wall with round, necco-wafer sized eyes. Its really funny.

    Also funny: our vet pronounces our cat’s name with a Dominican-style “G,” turning Giles into Hee-lays. It is very exciting. Giles’ full name is Giles Alejandro Scimitar. Clearly Hee-lays sounds fantastic with the middle and last names. I’ve taken to pronouncing it this way and Hee-lays seems to like it.

    That said, the last time I tried to change his name (a few months ago, to Mr. Sexy Legs), Giles liked it at first, but soon tired of my antics and just ignored me. I’m sure Hee-lays will run its course as well.

    I love naming things. I call my friends invented names. Many people I love have multiple names. Here are a few examples:

    Derek: Moth/Princess MonoBitch
    Lindsey: Squee/Homeslice/Homeskillet/Skillet/Slice
    Julian: Juje/Juju/JujuBean/JujuBear
    Keith: Queff/Queffers
    Bryan: Byron/Brain/Tinos
    Anthony: Hammer/HamBone
    Sheri: Good Tard/Killer Bread/Bob Evans 
    Mom: Mamacita
    Bryony: B
    Val: V
    Shaun: Shaun-san

    I don’t have too many nicknames. Derek calls me Moth (we are both Moth, which gets confusing, but not really) and Bryan calls me Tinos (also – both of us are Tinos, interchangeably). In high school, my friend Andrew called me T-dog sometimes, a nickname that I often sign off with on friend emails. My dad’s family sometimes calls me TrueBoo. My stepdad calls me Mogoli, or when I’m in trouble: Ms. T. Susie calls me T(rules), which I find thrilling.

    One of my best friends, Squee, has a name picked out for a cat she has yet to adopt. She hasn’t even got it picked out! She just knows that its name is Hamish and that its waiting in the world for her and that they soon shall meet. I think that takes skill. I’ve got to know someone for a while before I pick out a pet name for them. I look forward to meeting her cat and know that it will be every inch a Hamish.
    _______________________________________________________________________________
    How do you name things? What’s your nickname?


Comments (4)

  • I hope Hee-lays doesn’t get hooked on the pain meds.  The last thing you need is a junkie pussy.

  • ^ Heh.

    I love cat nicknames.  I’ve got Buster who became Kitty Kitty who became Kitty Witty who became Witty who now just answers to Wit (or Wittum or Wittive).  I don’t even call him Buster anymore, I just call him Wit.  BF doesn’t call him Wit, and when he tries, Buster doesn’t answer to him.  Apparently nicknames are in the eye of the beholder, or something.

  • For animals it just comes out when I pet them. Squiggy became Bunny Rabbit and I don’t know why. It’s not a great name for a cat. Heelays is a GREAT name.

    I call people what they asked to be called in school except kids and they get sweet names usually based on their habits.

    Online it’s funny because the person never hears their nickname I just say it in my head when I think of them and type to them. You re Trueboo. Lizzy is MizzLizz, Lenore is Le Happenstancian, Tim is T-Man and Professor and Captain sometimes, Eff is Pumpkin, Shah is Manomi (I found that one after several margaritas) and so on. Oh man, I have a problem I think.

  • oh dear, I love that your kitty cat has three names.  :) I’m pretty much a fan of the triple name.  My dogs are Baloo Castillo Chow and Linus Castillo Fluff. Ha!  I have a tendency to call things by their literal names.  Kind of like audrey hepburn in breakfast at tiffany’s and her cat named “cat.”  I also like naming inanimate objects.  for example my laptop is “laptoppy” and my cell phone is named peter o’toole, named by my best friend after watching the oscars.  I in turn named her cell phone lawrence of arabia.

    I have several nicknames.

    My highschool friends call my Kastle (that’s my last name in english with a twist)

    my sister calls me kitty

    my old roommate calls me jenny bear or J to the M to the K

    and my best friend calls me Jenny Kastle.

    I’m pretty fond of nicknames. 

    p.s. I’m pretty keen on minis too.  I hope little hee-lays is better soon, the silly little thing.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *