January 17, 2008

  • Timshel

    Before finishing East of Eden tonight, the last time that I’d read a book that’s changed me was high school. I’m talking about a book that articulates specific things inside me, things about the world that I’d been craving names for.

    In my high school, the only training in philosophy that we ever received was in English class, through novels by the likes of Fitzgerald and Hemmingway. These macho members of the Lost Generation taught us about the existential crisis, about the fallacy of the American Dream. I have a special place in my heart for each book on my high school’s summer reading list. When I think of work by Faulkner, Camus, Miller, Sartre, Beckett, and Pound, I feel like I’m remembering an old flame; they articulated my feelings about the world and because of this, in the true style of high school fanaticism, these authors embodied what I wanted in a man. Freaky, eh? 

    I think I just wanted someone who understood my dissatisfaction with the suburban status quo and the only  voice of dissent that I felt I had access to in my small Midwestern hometown came from the authors on the required reading list. I wanted someone to see the world as a place of choice, as a place where social conventions and religion are oftentimes absurd constraints used to control and manipulate people. I wanted someone who would laugh in the face of convention with me, who would delight in living a life that felt nothing less than authentic. These authors were chalk full of all of that. Who wants a homecoming corsage when you could have the burden of existential freedom? Its a good thing I met Shaun when I did – I lucked out to have met someone who gave me both.

    Anyhow, my high school crushes on these literary figures, in large part, may be the sad result of high school curriculum’s sickening disregard for females in the cannon. Perhaps if we studied ladies as well as men, I would have understood that Camus didn’t totally *get* me, that Miller and I weren’t completely meant for each other. I would have been awestruck, not lovestruck. I would not have associated intellectual/philosophical compatibility to sexual chemistry. I guess I’m just hopelessly hetero like that.

    I hope that my hometown English department has evolved a  bit since I left, but while a lot has happened to me in 8 years, I doubt the same is true for the school. When I was there, the English department thought that they could get away with beating Room of One’s Own like a dead horse for a month and that would safely cover the female literary perspective. The funny thing is, Virginia Wolf writes at great length about how ladies with the urge to write need to ditch the housework and babies for a while and get their authoring on. She urges the literary world to take people with vaginas seriously as writers. And just imagine how much her message might resonate if only it weren’t the ONLY female on the public high school required reading list. Sheesh! It makes you even more furious to think of how underrepresented authors of color are, how the homo-erotic pull of many, many works of fiction is rarely discussed in the classroom.

    Anyhow, I’m getting pretty off topic here. I meant to write about East of Eden and how I hadn’t felt this wrapped up in a book since high school, when I had crushes on authors and, like a groupie, wanted the books to change me, wanted to agree with everything they had to say. Instead I’ve written a weird psycho-sexual confession/rant about the state of public education. Ha!

    Back to East of Eden

    I’ve loved Steinbeck before: Of Mice and Men, Grapes of Wrath, Travels With Charley (okay – so I wasn’t really crazy about that last one). But once Oprah made East of Eden a part of her book club, I delayed reading it. Call me a snob, but there’s nothing more cringe worthy to me than having a big ‘ole Oprah seal on your book. It just makes my blood boil that the American public is so dumb that they need Oprah to put a literal seal of approval on things before they purchase them. But then again, at least they are reading – why should I get a bug up my butt about how they found out about the book, as long as they found out about it. I certainly can’t expect that all people like the library as much as I do. ANYHOW, the pretty Steinbeck Centential Edition of the book came out sans seal, reminding assholish elitists like me that they’ve been meaning to get around to it.

    I won’t snore my readers to death with a lengthy discussion about the book here (plus, I don’t want to spoil anything for those of you who’ve not read it yet), but I want to read it again and again. I want to join some sort of discussion club about it. I want Shaun to hurry up and read it already so that I can talk endlessly about what I believe to be a distinctly American preoccupation with “being good” and how this preoccupation has infiltrated a whole slew of our cultural, social, and political actions. I want to talk about the pages I’ve dog eared. I want to talk about brotherhood and how much of my brothers I see in Cal and Aron. I want to talk about the meaning of Timshel and how it just might have the power to change the world. I want to know about forgiveness. My copy needs to make its way to the library this weekend, but before I return it I want to buy a copy for myself. I finished tonight, but I’m not done. Not by a long shot.

    Before I sign off for the evening, I wanted to put here a quote from the book. This isn’t an excerpt that is integral to the book, or even one of my favorites, but it defines something I’ve been seeking definition to for a while. Last year in Scotland, I noticed the nuances of my nationality for the first time, just by the very fact that I was not Scottish. I came to realize many things about what it means to be an American, many of which Steinbeck’s wise character Lee explains in Chapter 51:

    All colors and breeds of Americans have somewhat the same tendencies. It’s a breed–selected out by accident. And so we’re overbrave and overfearful–we’re kind and cruel as children. We’re overfriendly and at the same time frightened of strangers. We boast and are impressed. We’re oversentimental and realistic. We are mundane and materialistic–and do you know any other nation that acts for ideas? We eat too much. We have no taste, no sense of proportion. We throw our energy about like waste. In the old lands they say of us that we go from barbarism to decadence without intervening culture. Can it be that our critics have not the key or the language of our culture? That’s what we are, Cal–all of us. you aren’t very different.

    _____________________________________________________________________________________
    Who else is in love with East of Eden? Also, I’m thinking of compiling my ideal required reading for high school students. Any suggestions?

    ::Random Tangent::
    Xanga peeps! Just wanted you to know that I’m reading blogs spurratically, but not having the time to comment as I’d like to. The winter term is just kicking off at work, and it is hard to start a new job at the busiest possible time. Next week things should slow down significantly, which I’m really looking forward to. Just wanted to say: keep up the thoughtful posts!

Comments (4)

  • Oh goodness, to be an american.  You know as I walk around london again I can easily spot my people.  Before they even speak I can tell that they are american.  I’ve never been embarrassed of my nationality or my heritage, but dang, sometimes i see people and I think to myself, can you please be a little less american,  ugh, I’ve gone off on a random tangent…oh well. how are you dear?

  • There is a marked contrast between growing up in the Midwest vs. here for me, within 30 or so miles of Manhattan.  From birth, seen much, experienced much and in some ways that also makes one somewhat of a cynic.  I can not truly say that I’ve read “A book” that has singularly changed me, influenced me, been an awakening. But collectively, no doubt that the sum total of all of them have. The great ones, good ones and even the poor.  (No one ever writes about the influence of poor books, do they?)
    And have, even back in high school (I bet a worse English Dept. than yours!), I looked on with amusement when some around me say they had been struck by a work I considered ordinary, except for the fact that someone may have told a good story in good prose. (Although given, some are at least what I and most would call great books, too.)  
    But being exaposed to ideas not only by a fortunate location, but by parents, encouraged to read at an early age, by example and being read to, played a positive part; remeber my mom reading a book to us on the front porch by John Gunther about Afgahnistan at about 9 or 10 – Ha! – Rumsfeld, Wolfowitz and Cheney should have been there! 
    My dad was a big fan of Edward R. Murrow, so seeing “Harvest of Shame” as a very young kid and asking a million questions about it prepared me for “Grapes of Wrath” but found in a way it had already lessened the impact of some of the content of Steinbeck epic when finally my mom pointed to it on the shelf and said read it sometime, which I did.
    So not having physically grown up in the Midwest, or figurativley, as some of my one-time classmates here, 30 miles from Times Square, it has taken me a very long time to understand that need you spoke of to express “dissatisfaction with the suburban status quo and the only voice of dissent that I felt I had access to… came from the authors on the required reading list.”  
    Two summers ago, since I had not ready any of her novels, just short stories, I picked up the first novel “by a promising new author” (so the dust jacket said of a very young looking Joyce Carol Oates) at a library 25 cent sale.  And although she grew up in the “empty quarter” of upstate New York, that same theme was there.  It is also in Boo’s “A Girls”  and other writings.
    Anyway, rambling thoughts with teh Sun AM political shows on tv now. Something here or in your previous post reminded me of what I had written to friends about the city’s most recent transformation, in this new century, but not worked into a post of my own, will try that out in the next few days.

  • I got a bit lost in the Timshel, but have not finished it. Instead I would like to comment here before I do so that I will not forget to! Reading can make me forget what I am doing especially with such ideas.English in our curriculum and in the textbooks that are being printed (California and Texas are the states that drive content these days) are rife with multiculturalism. They will skimp of a classic to include a mediocre piece because they need that shade of human. And things are lost. The editors do not go to the lengths to include Russian or much eastern literature that they do to include the American experience from racial perspectives. It’s a cheat to say it’s multiculturalism actually. It’s just multi-colored and gendered.Still, I am glad there is an attempt made, I just wish it was more considered. The only Steinbeck kids read in our school is OMAM. I have not read East of Eden and want to. I shared your tendency to crush on writers. Hawthorne was a huge crush for me in college and high school. Donne and Coleridge and Voltaire. And I will not get into my adoration of the ancient Greeks and Romans but oh, how they are the foundations. I still love them.It’s funny. I was just thinking about how Americans have to be the best or first. It doesn’t matter if it is a bad thing either. Concepts like fun and engagement have been perverted. I watch PDiddy on a commercial about a ho band he is putting together. They have to be the best the world has ever known! And if that isn’t a set up for disappointment I don’t know what is. I want to call him a jerk, but he is just really very American.I was also thinking about how deeply you get into the things you read. They color your world and that is at once outstanding and dangerous. I do not think a person can really experience a book fully if they do not feel it in their movements and lives. However, some books can cast a pall so deep and wide it’s hare to recover. I think you have a great a handle on it though. You could teach kids how to love books.It’s good to hear you are busy with work and it makes you look forward to peace time because then you will enjoy it1 Giles in the  City. I am glad he is adapting. That’s him at Naptime right? I can’t think of NYC without thinking of his photo there. Weird hunh?I firmly believe that you will cull gems from living there. The ucky part is that gems are usually covered in hardness and grime and once glimpsed by another exploiting them is  first come first steal affair. But you know where to look and it’s not outside. Not everyone has the inner landscape to accommodate the ideas you will mine. It’s generous of you to share this experience. Suggestions for high school reading. Hmm. I think contemporary work is important to engage young readers first. Then a healthy dose of a classic read in depth with only a basic translation reading level so ideas can be grasped.  I shy away from recommending things for everyone because each group I have seems to need something different. But Antigone and Dr. Faustus  and The Inferno and The Metamorphoses (Ovid not Kaftka) have lessons young Americans can cherish. Of course Shakespeare. But laced through it all should be contemporary fun reading. Nonfiction in mass quantities. Magazines and essays like mad. The connections each kids could  make would be amazing. Of course I would love for Pushkin and Lao Tsu to enter the mix. Or other authors that offer a different take wth different foundations.Okay, I have officially rambled. I will stop typing now!

  • Hey :) Yeah I would never go back to that opera place.  they’re bums. 
    I was in London for a week just bumming around and visiting a friend of mine.  I’m thinking about going back in august for my friend’s wedding.  I’m keeping an eye out for deals on flights.  how are things in NYC?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *