December 9, 2006

  • Edinburgh!

    We spent today in Edinburgh, and although its only an hours train ride away, it felt like a little mini vacation.

    Our purpose was productive enough. We went to the National Galleries of Scotland to pick out pieces to base a short story off of for a writing competition sponsored by The National Galleries and The English Speaking Union. I’m torn between a few, namely a Frans Snyder paining called Mischievous Monkeys, a Sir Frances Grant portrait of his daughter Daisy, and a hilariously provocative styling of Venus and Cupid by Lucas Cranach. I also like another Lucas Cranach called An Allegory of Melancholy. Apparently, in the late 1400′s, early 1500′s, when Cranach was alive, it was thought that four basic humours were thought to make up the human temperament: blood, choler, melancholy, and phlegm. This is the sort of thing that truly captivates me. I’m itching to write about it, but unlike the other paintings, I don’t know where Melancholy will take me. I find the most joy in writing when it’s like driving in the dark without headlights (which is a quote from some author whose name I’ve forgotten that my Story Studio writing teacher always used to say).

    After soaking up the art, we walked up the mammoth hill to the castle and watched the sun set on the city (at 4 pm. Oh winter). Then we browsed the shops. We stumbled into a few mod, cute boutiques and Shaun was patient with me as I bought a cool new dress (purple dots with a olive green sash) and a fun puffy-sleeved teal t-shirt with a black cat silhouette on the side.

    After our spot of shopping (which is a completely random and weird thing for me to be in the mood for–it seriously never happens, but it was fun today so I went with it), we came across a Scottish Arts Council sponsored gallery called Stills. There, three independent documentaries from the Middle East were on view. It was a really beautiful thing to see, especially for free, when you are least expecting it.

    After the films, we went for a dinner at an Italian place and drank wine, which mixed pleasantly with my cough medicine, making me laugh extra loud. At the restaurant, we were given Christmas crackers, which are like little surprise packages that make a “pop” noise when you pull them apart. They have a crown, a toy, and a joke usually. I got a fake moustache. Shaun got a heart clip.

    Tomorrow Shaun has his first public reading party and I am super excited to see it. Maybe Ill even wear my new wee dress!

    Pictures from today:


    The Winter Carnival is on now. These are the swings by the Sir Walter Scot monument.



    The National Galleries of Scotland.


    Cracker Prizes!


    Look at the weird wallpaper: hams! Stylish.
    ____________________________________________________________________
    What’s your Saturday like?

Comments (3)

  • Geez, in Cranach’s time there wasn’t anything in the basic humours for whimsy. (Well, there are some phlegm jokes.)

    I’ll have to look up those paintings. What a neat idea to use one as the impetus for apiece and even cooler that it should be a contest. Best of luck to you both. And to Shaun for his reading too.

    That wallpaper is weird. Only fit for a restaurant. Can’t see it in anyone’s den.

    Cute cracker prizes! Those things are fun. I first read about them in a piece by Dylan Thomas and had to investigate what they were. Kids here would adore those. Heck, I would if I got the sweet stache!

  • The mustache is a scream; color it white and you can do a John Bolton immitations. Where’s your crown TR?

    I can see why you’d like Venus and Cupid. It sort of reminds me of you and Shaun. : – )

    Ah melancholia, associated with black bile and the spleen (whence we get “venting spleen”). North winds, strong bones, and the planet Saturn. What the hell were those ancients smoking?

    If “Allegory…” is the picture I found on the Web, it’s pretty funny with the dog and the babies stepping on each other.

    By the way, if you guys are interested in *really* good whiskey, there used to be a shop called “Cadenhead” on the Royal Mile (about 2/3rds of the way from the Castle to the Palace — nearer the Palace and on the right side of the street as you’re facing the Palace). It was run by a really nice guy named ‘Neal’ and has some spectacular custom bottlings. Next time you’re in Edinburgh….

    Thanks for sharing your adventures; it’s bringing back all kinds of memories.

  • w00t! for travel, memories and unexpected gems. Seems like you and Shaun have the right personalities to get the most out of any excursion. Happy to, in some small part, come along with you!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *