Month: August 2006

  • Unearthed

    Last night Shaun and I walked over to the Music Box to check out the Underground Film Festival. We were lured to the 6 pm group screening, In Loving Memory, because one of the shorts listed in that screening was entitled Skulls and Blueberries. (And who wouldn’t be dying to know what kind narrative ties skulls and blueberries together?)

    I was mildly annoyed that like so many other festivals for underground stuff, this film festival seemed to be largely comprised of short films where unbearably loud, high-pitched noises underscore incoherent, out-of-focus snippets of video.

    Sadly, Skulls and Blueberries was no exception to this norm. This film was 4 minutes of noise that sounded as if a blender, a vacuum cleaner, and a lawn mower were running simultaneously while a muggy breeze caused the relentless clanking of a rusty tin wind-chime. Seizure-inducing video of an orange skull and crossbones darted in and out of focus while reverse exposed shots of blueberries tumbling from a bucket was sporadically spliced in. As the noise increased exponentially towards the last 30 seconds of the nightmare, a track of a wild girl child’s scream was added to the score. Cut to black. And dry heave.

    But like anything in life, you are bound to encounter more crappy films at underground festivals than memorably amazing films. Skulls and Blueberries was crap. But Robert Todd’s 47-minute In Loving Memory (also the namesake of the 6 pm group screening), was undeniably, memorably amazing.

    A quietly powerful film that explores the physiological landscape of death row inmates, In Loving Memory utilizes lush camera work and elegant, subtle dialogue to tap into the unrelenting stagnation and hushed unfurling that only waiting for death can bring.

    Perhaps sensing that the viewer would not be able to digest prisoner responses to such questions like, “what is your happiest memory?” and “what is the nicest thing you’ve ever done?,” the film opens with actors responding to these questions in what appears to be their own homes, enjoying small pleasures like French pressed coffee and warm hearths.

    Tales of fishing trips, of Christmas mornings, of newborn sons flow naturally, effortlessly from the screen. In some of the most convincing film performances I’ve seen in a while, it is absolutely imperceptible that these memories are not actually those of the actors speaking them.

    As the film progresses, it is gently suggested to the viewer that these responses are those of death row inmates. Able now to fully veiw the prisoners as human, the audience is privy to hear their stories directly from the prisoner’s mouths as they responded to further questioning via phone. The prisoners remain faceless while detailed, meticulously composed, classical shots of the natural landscapes outside their prison walls are carefully exhibited.

    The film ends with grossly disproportional statistics of our nation’s death row population. Colorado: 2; California: 600+.

    ___________________________________________________________
    What amazing thing have you unearthed lately?

    ::Random Tangent::

    Some of my favorite video artists:

    Gillian Wearing
    Cao Fei
    Ann Hamelton

    When we were visiting friends in LA in January, one of my favorite things that happened while we were there is watching and re-watching and watching again a bizarre short film at the HAMMER in which a young lady quietly smashed a tea set to bits. Intentionally or not: the 16-minute film was hilarious. We all loved it. We even narrated it. It was like Mystery Science Theater 3000, but better.

  • The Worm and the Books She Loves
    Boonwasborn and Rubyblue123 both tagged me to dish about books, which I love to do. So here it is ladies and gents, Chicagoartgirl23’s book loves.

    One book that changed your life?
    I can’t name one. That is just too hard. Here are a few that shaped my life at different points in time.

    Where the Sidewalk Ends and A Light in the Attic by Shel Silversein
    My grandpa, grandma, and mom would read poems from these books to me at bedtime when I was too little to know how to read myself. I learned to take comfort in stories from these readings. And these books, these same physical books, will be read to my children.

    Lizard Music by Daniel Manus Pinkwater
    This surreal “young adults” book was the most different, refreshing thing I had ever read. It stayed with me as one of my favorites, and looking back, reading it as an adult, I think it helped shape my taste for the bizarre, the unexpected, the surreal, the absurd. It featured a young boy who makes friends with Walter Cronkite and a band of rock ‘n’ roll playing lizards.

    Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel
    This was the first book in the genre of magical realism that I ever read and I read and I read it in middle school. It opened the door to other gorgeous novels as told by the likes of Isabel Allende, and later Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and Mikhail Bulgakov.

    The Sun Also Rises by Earnest Hemmingway
    Reading this book in my senior year of high school articulated the concept of the “Hemmingway Hero” to me. It was so good to have a vocabulary to express my love of flawed characters and my assertion that the gray areas of life are the only ones worth writing about. This book will always hold a special place in my life.

    The Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller—I read this play before I ever knew anything about it or saw it performed. I thought it was a hysterical satire. Who names their kids Happy and Biff? Who calls their sons Adonis? The whole thing had me in shits and giggles. When I found out in class that it was a tragedy, I was shocked. But after a bit of research, I found out that Miller also was shocked when people found the play to be a depressing tragedy. Like me, he also thought it was funny. This read taught me that an artist’s intent is not always interpreted as they intended. And that’s okay. Art is all about the viewer/reader’s experience. It is as much owned by the audience as it is by the creator. That is a lesson that I carry with me day to day, a lesson that makes it possible for me to appreciate and listen to and discuss a work’s meaning with many people, each with their own “take” on the intent.

    The Art and Zen of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert Pirsig
    I’ve never savored a book more. It took me over a year to finish it. Id read it lying down, page at a time, placing it on my chest every paragraph or so, closing my eyes, and thinking about how the lessons applied to my own life. Did I agree? Disagree? The same type of deep reading happened later with The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera.

    One book you have read more than once?
    Lizard Music, Alice in Wonderland, Just So Stories, and Loose Woman by Sandra Cisneros (a book of beautiful poetry that every woman will love). I want to go back and read A Wrinkle in Time and A Swiftly Moving Planet by Madeleine L’Engle, I also take comfort in The Bean Trees by Barbra Kingsolver and have reread it at various times in my life.

    One book I found out about by reading Playboy magazine:
    While I don’t subscribe to Playboy (I have my own boobs to keep me company, thank you), many of my favorite authors have been published in Playboy. Chuck Palahniuk, Updike, and scads more. T.C Boyle is always in Playboy, but I actually loathe his stuff. I find the details laborious to the point that it grosses me out.

    One book you would want on a desert island?
    I’d bring a pen and journal and write my own. I could use the peace, quiet, and time.

    One book that made you laugh?
    Recently: Jitterbug Perfume by Tom Robbins, Absurdistan by Gary Shyeyngart, Crossing California by Adam Langer.

    One book that made you cry?
    Recently: Small Wonders by Barbra Kingsolver

    One book you wish you wrote?
    I’ve never felt this way before. I love reading because I love how an author makes the story unfold. When I read my own writing, that element of surprise is absent. I wouldn’t trade that experience of discovery that reading gives me for anything. Plus, I write any stories that are inside me.

    One book you wish had never had been written?
    Ultimately, I don’t believe that there is any book that I don’t wish had been written. Although there are authors who have marketing machines instead of editors. Dan Brown, writer of The Da Vinci Code, for example. Also, propaganda is nauseating and destructive and a fair share of it has been written (hello Ann Coulter).

    The book that I gave away most?
    Loose Woman by Sandra Cisneros to women I love, Jitterbug Perfume by Tom Robbins as a wedding or “couples” gift, and The Worst Case Survival Guide as a graduation gift.

    One book you are currently reading?
    McSweeney’s, issue #20.

    One book you have been meaning to read?
    I have to finish the last two of the series of four Rabbit Novels by John Updike: Rabbit is Rich and Rabbit at Rest
    The Washington Story by Adam Langer. This is the sequel to the book I loved this winter, Crossing California. (As in California Street in Chicago, not California the surf-happy state).
    The Russian Debutante’s Handbook by Gary Shteygart. I just finished his book Absurdistan this morning. It was absolutely hysterical.
    The Coast of Chicago: Stories by Stewart Dybek
    I want to browse through a few of Francine Prose’s novels and choose one to read. I just finished a short story collection of hers called The Peaceable Kingdom and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
    Something else by Oscar Hijuelos, who’s novel The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love, was beyond sexy. The passion, the violence, the beat was incredible. You could almost dance to this book—everything about it was juicy.
    A book of essays on popular culture was recommended to me by my friend Lindsay, who is never wrong: Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs : A Low Culture Manifesto.
    Whatever Jeffrey Eugenides writes next. His Middlesex was by far one of the best things I read this year.

    For more Chicagoartgirl23 book loves, click here.

    As for tagging…anyone who wants to give me a recommendation, the comment box is all yours!

    ::Random Tangent::
    Last night I went on a true date with my husband. It was his last day of work and he wanted a quiet evening to celebrate. We dined at Andie’s, one our favorite neighborhood restaurants. The food was delicious, an amorous gay couple living in the building directly across from the restaurant neglected to close their blinds before engaging in vigorous lovemaking (much to the amusement of all dining in the restaurant), and the company was unbeatable. My husband and I like to celebrate all occasions with a drink that we’ve only read about but never tried. Last night we ordered Grappa to go with our baklava, curious about the drink that the mangled, chauvinistic Frederic Henry sipped from dawn to dusk in A Farewell to Arms. Good lord! Grappa is nail polish remover in a wine glass! It will kill every bit of bacteria that ever lived in your mouth ever!

    Laughing and jolly over our Grappa catastrophe and the riotous display of queer exhibitionism, engaged and thoughtful in political ponderings (we frequently try to save the world over dinner), and enthusiastic about life and love, if yesterday had only been my first date with Shaun, we still would be moving to Scotland together in September. Clearly, we are partners in crime.

    After dinner we went for a walk along the lakefront. The air was chilly and the waves were crashing. The moon was remarkable. Enormous and orange, it looked more like a giant cookie being dunked into the lake than a moon. But soon it was rising, growing smaller and whiter as it did. The pale, wind-rippled beach was empty save for a Muslim family playing soccer together: a dad, teens, a mom, an auntie, a few boys, and a tiny little girl in a red and white striped bathing suit. At one point in their game, the dad abruptly stopped playing to jovially race his family towards the water. Together they ran full force towards the lake, the women’s hajibs billowing around them gracefully, beautifully. Without a pause, fully clothed, they flung themselves into the waves, laughing, splashing. I squeezed my loves hand. That would be our family someday.

    Have you been on a fantastic date lately?

  • The Amazing Mumbai Mamma

    Step right up ladies and gentleman!

    Take a read of Installation #2 of The Amazing Mumbai Mamma’s travel essays! Laugh as the white western woman who birthed me navigates the uncharted waters of the sari! Be amazed by various potty time exploits! Fashion fiascos, cultural politics, and more await you at www.uschatter.com.

    Don’t miss out–check it out now!

  • Monday, Bloody Monday
    His shallow panting made me peek. His chest lifted and sagged, lifted and sagged, curried carbon dioxide dumping, lumping from his plump purple lips.

    “Are you really sleepy or are you just the most relaxed person on earth?” Dr. Sehgal jested.

    I felt the lower curve of my left breast jiggle and pull as the scalpel scrapped and prodded the numbed flesh of my upper-chest, “Neither. I’m trying to be Zen—I get grossed out really easily.”

    “You are doing just fine.” With no wood to knock on, my dermatologist reminded the great Murphy to enact his insidious Law. I dry-heaved. Wharf!

    “Do you need a container? Are you going to vomit?” He asked, backing away from my over-active gag reflex.
    “Actually, I think I am going to pass out.”

    Deep in the recesses of my subconscious, all was left behind: my dainty cute beauty mark turned sinister mole, the heavy-breathing doctor who was removing it, the white hum of the doctors office, the entire world. I was swimming with sweet fishes in dark lake water, unafraid, cooled, brave. I swam to my mom who had news for me. She had another job interview soon. Isn’t that great? It is mom. It is. I swim on, deeper still, and I am with Shaun and we are trying to figure out the best way to ride the upcoming waterfall together without loosing each other in the whirlpools below. We are not worried. We joke about how we probably should be. And then…

    …a white room. People. Doctors. A cup of juice.

    “Drink this. Even if you don’t want to, you need to drink this.”
    I am a good girl. I’ve always been a good girl. I know this. It is the thing I know. I drink it with confused, timid sips. I am not ready. I lay back down. I breathe.

    “Is this the doctors?” I say it aloud and suddenly I know where I am, “Oh yeah.” I continue, “Was I out for long? It felt like forever.” They are putting an ice pack on my forehead. I hate it. Why don’t they know my sweat is cold?

    “Have you been tested for seizures?”
    “Yes. But I don’t have them. I have Vaso Vagal Syncope. I got tested—it was all checked out. I just pass out a lot.” He was irritating me. I wished he would have been hacking away at my chest while I was unconscious so I could awake and everything would be settled and finished. I wanted to go back to sleep.

    “You are out for an uncommonly long time.”
    “I usually am.”
    “Your eyelids flutter.”
    “Yeah. My face in repose tends to be pretty weird.”
    “You may be having mini-seizures.”

    Blood was coming back to my face in searing pinpricks. I was aggravated under my cloud of disorientation that this doctor was choosing such an inopportune time to tell me he thinks I have seizures. My breasts were lollygagging out in the open, blood trickling down my left curve, a half-removed sinister mole flapping in the breeze—what kind of time was this to try to talk about anything, let alone seizures?!? Besides, I’ve been through this already—I’ve been tested extensively just to make sure. I just pass out. My mom does it to. It’s just what we do.

    The doctor relented and the needle and thread went in, went out. Black stitch. One stitch, two stitch, three stitch. More? I let myself think of only the dark, cool lake water. I let myself only be there.

    After I was out of my appointment and Vakadin happy, my mom and I had a phone chat. The same time I had passed out, she was on the phone with a prospective empoyer, scheduling an interview. Psycic? Who knows. But it is way more fun to think I am. ::smile::

    All week I’ve been baby-ing my little wound. The pain is cinching and biting every now and again, but the real bummer is that I can’t exercise or lift anything remotely heavy until August 16, otherwise I risk popping my stitches, which is not only grotesque, but would also increase the chance that instead of a nice, smooth line scar, I would get a goiter-type lump of a scar. Yuck.

    So I’ll be playing it cool for the rest of the summer. It makes me happy that I took advantage of the warmth and the sun and the rolling blue skies while I could. Plus, September is usually pretty warm still. September is perfect, actually.

    ________________________________________________________________________

    Have you ever acted like a dork in a doctor’s office?

    ::Random Tangent::

    Yesterday was great. I got to go in to work late to run my last First Fridays and in the leisurely space of the morning, I fell in love with three new things: a novel called Absurdistan by Gary Shteyngart, a movie called Baby, It’s Cold Outside in Wolfin issue #2, and a new French singer named Camille whose CD, Le Fil I promptly bought on iTunes after hearing an NPR interview with her. All are incredibly, impressivly, engrossingly good.

    What have you fallen for lately? Also, I have to write an official letter of resignation for my HR department. Any tips on how to write a good one?