June 25, 2006

  • I spent the afternoon reading manuscripts for my writers group on Wednesday. One of my classmates wrote a great story in blog form. His story was hillarious and it made me want to try starting a character blog.

    Currently, I’m writing a story about a young broadcast journalist whose first job out of college is at a Fox News affiliate. He knows his job at Fox is a dishonest one, but everyone needs a paycheck, right? So he works there, ignoring his mounting feelings of disgust with himself for taking the job, until one day when these feelings manifest into a talking fiddlehead that is burrowed deep inside his ear. Comedic mania ensues when, while interviewing Ann Coulter, the fiddlehead bursts out of the young protagonists head screaming filthy insults.

    It’s a comedy in the magical realism vein, I guess. Who knows what it is. It very well might be crap. But I’m having fun writing it. Especially trying to write a convincing first person account of a 28-year old half-Jewish dude with a bean in his ear. So I started a blog for him to try to get to know him better. It’s pretty fun; although I won’t share the link because I’m pretty sure it will lessen the fun of pretending to be a dude if my readers know I’m pretending. But I now that you all know the plot points of my story, be on the lookout for a faux Xanga author on the loose.

    People pretending to be someone else online?!?! Well I never!
    __________________________________________________________________________________________________
    What project are you working on this weekend?

Comments (6)

  • Actually, the local Fox News affiliates I’ve known are run just like all the other local stations … on the cheap, with no real political bias. That’s mainly on the head end. But anyway …I did once invent a whole different character for a online discussion community. The normal me was somewhat established, yet I wanted a way of expressing off-the-wall opinions.For this weekend, I’ve been trying my best NOT to work on projects. Well, except trying to play catchup with the Xanga Music Xchange requests. Which is a good thing.

  • That does sound like it has comedy all over it. And the only time I would ever watch Ann COulter say anything would be if someone could guarantee me that this would happen. I might pay money.A second blog perosnality is a cool idea. I tried it once, but lacking the interaction I would have had to make contact with a new group of people and time just wasn’t making itself available. I did get a few friends over there and kept it low key, but the character was just too flat for my tastes and I hated writing in her voice after a while. But I never thought of it as a way to develop a story. That’s interesting. Hmmmm.Sheesh, I got caught up quickly. Well, the rest of the weekend is a long bike ride from here on out. Have a great week!

  • Like Tim, I have assiduously avoided doing anything this weekend.

  • my project is getting myself in shape. i just hiked, now i’m going to work. :/

  • I’m working on two poetry books. and a novel. and a screenplay.
    If you need ‘dude’ advice, look me up.  

  • wow I don’t know if you check this, but I’m just droppin by to say and see how your move is going.  Just wanted to let you know that i shall be a fancy girl in london this school year! I get to study over there and I’m excited!!!!  So if you check this anytime soon drop me a line.
    -Jen

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *