May 15, 2006

  • Today

    I tried to go to work this morning. I got up, my stomach churning, my mouth mealy. I made coffee. I used product in my hair. I thought about ironing my clothes.

    I left on time. I caught the bus. An old man asked me, “why the long face?” I thought about smiling at him.

    I transferred to the red line. I nabbed a seat. I read a short story. I began to feel hot. I took off my coat. My face was covered in searing pinpricks. I put my head between my legs. I tasted bile in my throat. I thought about passing out.

    I passed out. I dry-heaved awake. I got off at Fullerton. My sweat dried and I shivered. I thought about calling in sick. I reviewed my mental “to-do” list and determined it possible. I walked feebly down the stairs and crossed over to the northbound tracks.

    I went home. Bought an orange juice at Dunkin’ Doughnuts. I had to charge it. I changed out of my wet clothes. Did I mention it was raining? I slept on my couch through the movie Garden State.

    It’s afternoon now. My body aches for no good reason and I might have to admit to having the flu. Over mugs of green tea, I made revisions to my short story. If I am not still worshiping the porcelain gods on Wednesday, I will be turning this story in to my writers group.

    I am really proud of my story. I’ve been working on this sucker for a good three months now: I’m a slow, part-time writer. I revise a lot. I wish I could just barf up a story in one good draft, but I’m not like that. When I write fiction it feels like driving at night with no headlights. But I like the discovery. I like the challenge. And I like taking my time.

    I’ve been having less success in my blogging lately. I’m in a period of limbo right now (those of you who know me know why) and it would be unwise of me to blog about my messy, fun life at the moment. In the next few weeks, I will be able to turn inside out once again on me blog, which for some inexplicable reason, I enjoy. Untill then, it looks like more hum-drum posts like this one.
    ______________________________________________________________________________________________
    How are you today?

Comments (5)

  • I’m feeling a bit jetlagged today, as noted, but really enjoyed Vancouver. Sorry to hear you working through things. I have confidence you will.

  • Nothing to be worry about Timshead. It not so much that I am working through things as anticipating change. All good stuff. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it is, anyhow. ::smile::

  • hope you feel better soon!

  • I’m feeling pretty good thusfar in the day. Hopefully you are feeling better. The amount of time you take on a story shows. It does and it’s worth it in my oh so humble opinion.

  • I’m so sorry to hear that you’re sick. I had the same damn thing last week, but I didn’t pass out. Wow, that must have been scary.
    The thing lasted four days for me. I hope you get better faster than that.

    My own day sucks. I got a rejection from an agent that was so stupid I wanted to scream. She even called my work a “mystery,” when I clearly told her it was contemporary fantasy. Plus, she represents William Gibson who wrote Pattern Recognition last year–and he wrote it in present tense. She said in her rejection letter that she had trouble with the present tense in my ms. I just want to scream. How dense can these people be?

    Lynn

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *