April 27, 2006

  • Sodium and Pit Stains
    This month I’ve been on four airplanes, grimacing and letting bile flood my mouth during four landings. I’ve spent time in New York City and Washington DC, bonding with friends, developing professionally, and eating too much sodium.

    This month I’ve spent far too much time in the office, earning money. And today, like a dumb ass, I spent some of that money on clothes. Eventhough I tell myself that it is normal, once one has a job that pays a reasonable amount, to purchase outfits that actually fit, are comfortable, and in line with ones profession, it is still a difficult thing for me to put down the money for them. I feel much more beautiful when partaking in my usual activity of squirreling away money in the savings account. But then again, I am pretty excited to trash some of those rotting, pit-stained dress shirts I’ve been wearing with embarrassment for some time now. That’s right, I said it: PIT STAINS. After spending the last two summers in a sweltering, un-air-conditioned apartment, it is no wonder that I needed new spring/summer clothes for work: my old ones were pretty rank looking.

    This month I have not spent enough time in the grocery store. The basement communal laundry room is a distant memory. My jogging time is down to a scant average of three days a week. And I have some foggy notion that prior to this month, I once kept a blog…do any of you, my lovely and patient readers remember anything of the sort?
    __________________________________________________________________
    What has been occupying you as of late?

Comments (8)

  • I can relate to the pleasure of ditching the pit stains, but my budget forces me to shop in thrift stores, where I have to be on the lookout for other people’s old stains.

    One foot in front of the other, time after time, day after day, is what has been occupying me.

  • An easier question would be what hasn’t been occupying me of late. That would at least produce a shorter list.

    I’m hoping things get back somewhere near normal after the end of the semester.

    Oh, and happy you’re taking care of the pit stains. That does sound worth it.

  • Hey, I remember you! I hated spending money on work clothes but it does feel good to show up for work wearing something new and appropriate and pit stain free. Enjoy!

  • I like Ross for work clothes.  Something new and fresh without breaking the bank, though it usually requires some digging to find the good stuff amidst the crap.

    Lately I’ve been reading a lot in the evenings.  I also started a new job. Both are completely absorbing, but in a good way.

  • You DO sound sort of familiar? lol  I buy most of my clothes at consignment stores and Goodwill, lol, it’s not like one needs to be apropriately dressed the fix toilets and work on refrigeration compressers. The rest of the time I merely switch to CLEAN jeans and shirts unless I’m going to a rare symphony or concert.

  • interestingly, i’m pretty sure pit stains are related to your body releasing salts…

    i have to force myself to buy work clothes too. luckily i am an environmental scientist and when we’re not in our field clothes, the guys in my office couldn’t care less if i came to work in my pajamas. but i still want to look professional. it helps me feel professional.

  • Papers, Papers and speeches! Damn me for taking english 102 and speech at the same time! OH well. Shopping is good. Oh by the by don’t ever eat ice cream at Ben and Jerry’s navy pier. it’s unsanitary.

    -Jenn

  • Some of my favorite hot weather tshirts have pit stains. What to do? Such a fashion “NO!” and yet such an attachment I have to these shirts. Shout doesn’t work, not bleach – is there any hope? Perhaps a good sale and a wide-rimmed trash can. :Tear:

    Congrats on your achievement.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *