Month: September 2005

  • Before we begin, just let me say: thanks for pleading with me to stay with the blogging on my last entry. It was very cute indeed. But have no fear—I’m going nowhere. I didn’t mean to come off as a blog snob (you know the type—those who roll their eyes at the fun of the blog). The relaxed, fun little community that I’ve stumbled upon through Xanga is one of the coolest surprises that I’ve received in the past year. Ditch that? No way. I was just having a drifting mind that day and found myself thinking about how I came to blogging in the first place.

    So thanks a million—you cats are da bomb—and without further ado…

    Obsess Much?
    © The Author, 2005

    Some of my favorite characters are usually revealed to me through their obsessions. Mrs. Haversham was obsessed with the wedding that never was. Carol Burnam was obsessed with roses and perfection, Ricky Fitz with video taping beauty. Scout and Jem were obsessed with Boo Radley. Alobar was obsessed with beets. Jake was obsessed with Brett. Nick Carraway was obsessed with status. Everyone in Updike’s deliciously smutty Couples was obsessed with sex and leisure. And then there is author Michaels Chabon, where virtually every character is messed up enough to have an obsession.

    In Chabon’s book (& later the fabulous movie) The Wonder Boys, Grady Tripp was obsessed with pot and chasing the elusive ending to his book, James Leer was obsessed with lies and old movies, Hanna Green with her red cowboy boots, and Walter Galsgow with Marilyn Monroe and Joe DiMaggio. In Chabon’s The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, the characters are riddled with obsession: comic books, Houdini, Nazi’s—the glorious hang ups are abundant.

    Obsessions are not criteria for a good story–I can think of plenty of characters for whom I can’t pinpoint an obsession–but I always latch on whenever one is provided. It adds richness for me.

    Different writers seem to use obsessions differently. Sometimes it’s the main character who has none at all—everyone around them is nuts. Sometimes the main character is riddled with obsessions and surrounds himself with others who are driven by their obsessions, but they long to be with the one person in the story who doesn’t seem to have any at all. There are a million and one variations. I like them all.

    If I had to tell a story about myself I’d say my obsession is with anything campy. Give me a hot buttered rum served in a gargantuan skull mug, and I’m much happier than playing it cool with a chilled martini glass; give me a Drag Queen Tina Turner and I’m more tickled than if I were to see the real deal. What does that say about me? Nothing in specific, but I think it somehow explains a lot.

    I’m tossing around the idea of obsession as I try to get to know the leading man of the story I’m writing better. He is elusive—sometimes he bears all and other times he is withholding and shy. So what does he obsess over? I don’t know. I don’t know yet if it matters. But I’m having a good time figuring it out.

    ______________________________________________________
    What obsession could define you if you were a character in a book? What are some of your favorite character’s obsessions?

    Later:

    Hey, not to admit that I actually take quizes like this or anything, but well…yeah..I some times waste more time than I ought to. Infraorange posted this cool quiz (her results are far cooler than mine), and I thought it was campy in just the way I like. According to Quizilla, I am…

    Take it for yourself for a laugh: http://quizilla.com/users/etherkiss/quizzes/What%20is%20your%20sexual%20appeal%3F/

  • This Little Blog of Mine, I’m Gonna Let it Shine
    © The Author, 2005

    I’m afraid that this little blog of mine is going to get degenerate (more so than it is already) pretty soon. Lately, the thought of writing entries has become a chore.

    A snore.

    Okay, maybe snore is a stretch.

    What I’m really afraid of is that I’ll start writing entries fit for an eye-roll. In this dreaded scenario, my entries will open with an approximation of my daily caloric intake, followed by a good crab about an irritating colleague or two, and conclude with a weighty consideration of the pro’s and con’s of letting myself be lazy with my workouts, resulting in the growth of a sizable ass.

    The simple fact is, after writing in my writers journal on my way to work, staring at a computer screen writing all day once I arrive to work (or if its Friday and I’m pulling my shift at Columbia, talking about writing all day), writing in my writer’s journal on my train ride home, and writing a fresh one-page minimum on the story I’m working on for my class, lately the last thing I want to do in a week is write an honest to goodness chicagoartgirl-style blog.

    Who knows, though–that could just be a piss poor excuse for being uninspired.

    I was inspired to start keeping a blog in the first place because I was feeling alienated and had a sincere need to feel listened to. My family was changing too fast (my parents divorced, my childhood home sold, sad and overworked parents, sad and confused siblings, blah, blah, blah) for anyone to ask me how my job was going, if I was feeling okay, or if I’d been reading any good books lately. While this was (is) completely understandable, I was kind of lonely. My partner is a great listener and my greatest confidant–but to be honest, I’m not comfortable just having a little bubble of a world built of me and him–that can get sort of stifling and be really damaging for a relationship. My favorite activities are solitary (running, writing, reading, drawing), so it’s not like I have an abundance of social situations to purge myself of all the thoughts that swim around in my head. Plus, not many of my friends live here–they have all pretty much scattered, or are extremely busy with their lives. At work I was the lowest person on the totem pole, and feeling embarrassed, stupid, and ignored on a daily basis. Worst of all, my writing was without readers. So in lieu of interacting with “real people,” I turned to writing for an Internet audience. Pathetic, eh? If anyone ever did ask me in person why I blog, trust me–I wouldn’t have the balls to say something so lame out loud.

    So perhaps being uninspired to blog is actually healthy. Perhaps I’m feeling more listened to in this world. Perhaps I am more inspired in my real life.

    Work has been going spectacularly well. Based off projects I’d done at Columbia College’s Writing Center, I’ve been invited to co-write a chapter for a book that discusses the incorporation of creativity into academia. I’d always hoped that my writing would be published in a big, unavoidable way (mass media has always been stupidly appealing to me), but I’m pleased as pie to have this offer to write for the academic community. It’s all yippe-skippy to me.

    My other job at the museum is going well too. I’m there four days a week now, instead of three. That means more money for me, as the Writing Center tends to pay me less than livable wages. I love that center to death, but I’m not working there for the money, that’s for sure. I was given the charge to organize the museum’s presence at an outdoor fair this weekend, and aside from the rain driving away the crowds in hordes, everything went off without a hitch. I was even given a round of applause at a departmental meeting and my heart felt like it was singing.

    I am such a dork.

    Writing class is going well too. I might have started out as the worst writer there, but there is nothing like a challenge to make me fly. I like what I’m writing, and I think that much of it is better than anything I’ve ever done before. I’m learning so much my brain feels like it could pop.

    Shaun’s parents were in town last weekend and we went to see an awsome play called “The Last Boys” at the Steppenwolf (gotta love those cheap “industry tickets” I get for working in a marketing department). We were also treated to stories from Jim’s (Shaun’s step dad) life. I love it when people make stories out of their lives. That’s one reason why I love reading all of your blogs–people are fascinating. Really, they are.

    So, as you can see, things are good. For now. A little out of balance (too much writing and working results in not quite enough human interaction to qualify as “normal”), but definitely good. With life treating me so well, what is there to blog about? ::smile::
    ___________________________________________________________

    Why do you blog? What makes you write what you do?

  • Happy Womb Evacuation Day!
    (I’m glad you made it out unscathed).

    © The Author, 2005

    I was so young when I first met him that my mom had to drive me to his birthday party. I had never been to his house before, although I could approximate the vicinity from watching him part our group of friends, gathered after school on the lawn to chat, eat Snickers bars, and pile into each other’s cars if we didn’t have a play practice or choir rehearsal to be at. Although he owned a car, Shaun never drove to school–he always walked. While I was always sad to see him go, I liked letting my eyes follow him zigzagging the parking lot, cutting through the baseball field, and bounding across the street. Those orange afternoons made his brown mop of hair shine like a glass of brandy held to light. He always dipped out of sight after crossing the street our campus was settled on and ducking into a little dirt road.

    “Did you just expect me to drive around forever and have the house jump out at us?” My mom scolded me as we circled where I figured he must live. Luckily, I identified a friend’s car and I knew we we’d found the right spot. “Bye! Love you!” I said as I bounded out of the car.

    It was Shaun’s 18th surprise birthday party, and it was arranged by a mutual friend that, secretly or not so secretly, no body really liked all that much. Despite whatever feelings nearly everyone in school had about the party’s organizer, everyone invited was excited to show for Shaun’s party. Shaun was always the kind of person to show up first for parties, always a few minutes early. Even though his quietness made him an unlikely candidate to get the party started, he had a way of putting everyone at ease. Plus, he made nervous hosts feel special by showing that not only did people want to show up to their party, but people wanted to come early. Shaun was always considerate enough to bring chips and cd’s. He was the kind of guy who brought everyone a weird, cheap Christmas present before school was out for winter break, without a thought as to weather he would get a gift in return. One year, before we were dating, I got a Chia-head. He was–and still is–giving and nice to preactically everyone he meets. Everyone agreed that this sweetness made him someone who definitely deserved a surprise party.

    For his 18th birthday present, I made Shaun a funny collage that I made, complete with images of everything he did not want for his birthday: locusts, sumo wrestlers, cocktail wieners, wigs, fatty ham slices and the like.

    The other people at the party were juniors and seniors–as a sophomore I was the youngest in our group. I didn’t know the kids there too well, although I so desperately wanted them to like me–especially Shaun. I was consumed with plans to get him to notice me. I wore my button fly jeans, midnight blue doc martins, a powder blue baby-t and a metal choker with blue beads. An arm cuff made of metal shaped like curly-cues kept sliding off my skinny arm, but when it stayed up it added what I thought to be an artsy, exotic flair to the ensemble. I hoped he would like it.

    I’m not sure where he was prior to the party, but I have a blurred picture in my head of shouting “Surprise!” at him when he flicked the light on to the basement, on his was to grab a Snapple from the pop fridge most likely. He wore a Nirvana t-shirt and jeans. I imagine him clapping his hands to his eyes and laughing; he has always been quiet and shy, although in those days I was so obsessed I misinterpreted that as “mysterious.” My man of mystery was a gracious host, ensuring everyone had their say in which Cure or Nirvana song was played next. I remember nervously crunching peanut M&M’s as Shaun moved his hand to my collage in the gift pile. I was relived when he burst out laughing and then moved across the room to give me a thank you hug. He passed my crazy art around for everyone to see.

    Shaun’s friend Tom saw a lot of action that night as the bulk of Shaun’s friends who were girls were happy to meet fresh meat from another school (he went to private school and we went to public). While they piled atop him in hormone-laden mock wrestling matches, I stayed by Shaun’s periphery as he talked about bands I faked like I knew to his guy friends. Later that night, we went out into Shaun’s back yard and tried to do cartwheels in the dewy grass.

    By that January we were dating and we’ve celebrated every birthday together since–each year better than the last. Today that shy, kind-faced boy I surprised into his 18th year turns 26. And I love him more than ever.

    Happy Birthday, Shaun-san! And many more…


    *While I can’t find any pictures taken from that party, here is a picture taken that year of us in a gift unwrapping sort of situation. Pretend it is Shaun-san’s birthday party. Notice the creepy, Mae West look I am giving him for no apperent reason? Yikes. Teenage hormones are scary!


    On the other hand, how can you not want to make out with someone this funny, easy going, and smart? Just look at him! What a catch! ::smile::

  • Hello beautiful readers. My posting may be erratic the next few weeks due to my recent enrollment in a writing class that has me pretty busy as I try to incorporate it into my crazy work schedule ‘o’ many jobs, voulenteering, running, and spending time with Shaun-san and friends. Also, please know that I’m reading your blogs, but in the interest of eliminating as many procrastinating habits as possible as I enter this phase of what is supposed to be productivity, I’m not allowing myself to comment. Sorry, folks, but thats the way its got to be. You are all writing brilliantly, as usual though. Keep up the good work & thanks for understanding. Anyhow, here’s something for your reading enjoyment (I hope).

    A Quiet Plummet From an Unnecessarily High Horse
    &copy: The Author, 2005

    I started my writing class this past Tuesday and I must say that it made me feel like utter shite. Even though I’ve been writing my entire life, the other ladies (plus one dude) in the class are a good ten to twenty years my elder, making me the least experienced in the class. I had grown so used to being the star of academia that it didn’t occur to me at first that my significant age difference would matter much, but as soon as we began to read our work aloud I felt entirely diminished and elementary. My classmate’s work was clean and detailed and pulsing with life. Mine was…not.

    I spent the night prior to the first class osculating between ranting about the course for making me read my work aloud on the first day of class to complete strangers (aka my classmates) and revising the life out of a scene from a personal narrative I’d been working on. I’d never read my work aloud in a situation where I didn’t know and trust the group I would be working with, and I was so nervous about it that I over-revised. I took out all the glimmers and moments and gory details that define my voice and make my work my own. I guess that subliminally I wasn’t ready for them to see the real me—I didn’t know them!

    I know you might find this strange coming form a blogger who probably blabs more than she should in a public forum, but writing little blog-y things and reading your serious work aloud to strangers are two entirely different things. I have nothing invested in my blog entries—a leisurely hour or two per week spent trying to deconstruct certain aspects of our politics, culture, and society or celebrating what makes my life so beautiful with my fellow bloggers is nothing compared to the way a short story worms itself inside me and twists around in my guts 24/7. Writing blogs is fun. Writing fiction and narratives is painful. Why do I like it again? Oh yeah. I’m a masochist.

    When I had “finished” my revisions on the fragment I was to bring in, everything was too clean and tidy. I tested it out on my partner and immediately after reading it I blurted out, “Man—this is boring.” He told me not to worry, that reading it during class would give me more than enough feedback to work with. Plus it was late and I’m sure he’d had enough of my fretting, so I called it quits and I resigned to bringing in what I had.

    The next night in class, my counterparts assured me that indeed my work was boring—only they used the more productive and writerly phrase, “the writing lacks tension. It’s beautiful, but it is too pristine. Nothing is pulling us forward.” They were, of course, completely right. Oh well, you live you learn. Although I’m sure this isn’t the first time that I’ve learned the lesson that it’s best to just be yourself. Why do I keep reliving that one? Yikes.

    The walk home from class at 9:30 pm was a long one. I had been up since 5 am and I had endured a hard workout, an unmemorable but long day at the office, and a class that had rightfully, thankfully knocked me off my high horse. The night wrapped around me comfortingly and I was happy to finally be alone. Taking the short cut through the ally, I was stopped in my tracks at the surreal sight of a perfectly good green apple positioned smack dab in the center of a circle of crisp light cast from a nearby street lamp. The whole scene begged to be photographed or written about and I felt so hopeless and ridiculous all of a sudden when I realized that at this stage in the game, I’d never be able to do either adequately. A combination of cranky, bloat-y girl hormones, exhaustion, and a raw feeling of inadequacy made me start to cry stupidly as I walked away from the lonely apple and across the ally to our apartment. I wiped my nose on my sleeve and took a few deep breaths before walking up the stairs.

    Shaun was waiting for me in the kitchen, dishing up a warm, Indian curried chicken and tomato dinner that he’d been so nice to as cook. My mouth watered like crazy—I hadn’t realized how ravenously hungry I was. We ate in silence before I began to tell him how hard the class was.

    In my telling of the story to him, I realized that being the worst in the class is actually a good thing. Not only will I be learning from the teacher, but I’ll also be learning from everyone around me; I’m definitely getting more bang for my buck than the best person in the class. Besides that, being the best in class never really adds up to much—I know from experience. Setting the curve is fulfilling and all, but what really seems to make a difference in a person’s success outside the classroom is the analytical thinking, discipline, problem solving, creativity, maturity, and leadership required to handle tough assignments. And if you are giving an assignment your all, you will acquire those qualities regardless of weather you receive a perfect score or not. This is not to diminish in any way the awesomeness that is knowing a topic or craft so well that you are able to generate an absolutely perfect end result. But it is to say that I plan on giving my all to these assignments, and even if I never get it right in these eight weeks of class (or in a lifetime of classes), I will have learned enough about myself through my wholehearted attempts at the craft of writing to dust myself off and try again.
    ________________________________________________________________________

    What did you learn the last time you were knocked off a high horse?

  • Cheers
    © The Author, 2005

    Since shortly after I could walk, my grandma and grandpa Jaggers have been taking me hiking. Each of us equipped with a pack holding rain ponchos, water bottles, and a lunch that consists of a cheese hunk, an apricot or plum, a whole grain sandwich of some sort, and a granola bar, we set out to conquer the mountains of Colorado.

    Together we quietly hike 6-mile stretches of rough terrain, passing the timberline and snow to reach the beautiful hidden glacial pools tucked away in the crevices of the Rockies. The first hour or so of this endeavor is always vibrant and good, despite the hell that the elevation causes my midwestern lungs. But as the hike continues, my body becomes wearier and wearier.

    I can distinctly remember one hike taken with my grandparents. I was probably in fifth grade or so, and a stretch of it was in an area that was completely unprotected by shade. The sun was beating down on us, the wind was at a standstill, and the path was so steep that it was literally like climbing stairs, only the stairs were rocks covered in loose, uncooperative gravel. I remember collapsing onto the side of the path, unable to catch my breath. My grandma caught up to me and as always, there was scarcely a drop of sweat on her. “Just take a sip of water and catch your breath and you’ll be fine,” she offered. I wasn’t completely convinced–in fact, I was sure that I was going to die–but seeing how being alone in the wilderness is never an appealing idea, I saw no other options but to dust myself off and keep on going.

    I don’t remember the particular destination of that hike, but I do remember feeling amazed at myself once we reached it. I knew that I could do anything. This feeling was born on that hike and has repeated itself many times, both on and off the trail.

    Upon reaching our hiking destinations, my grandparents and I proceed to devour our little lunches. This must be done with some stealth, as we always have to guard our eats from the sneaky clutches of fat marmosets, haughty squirrels, and pecking birds.

    After lunch has been gobbled up, we lean our heads back and stretch out on the ground; the boulders are always more comfortable than the most expensive mattress in the world. The scenery is beautiful in a way that is better felt than seen. Pictures of mountains are unable to capture it. The mountains give me a tangible understanding of how young and small I am in the world, without diminishing the importance of my contributions. There is rawness and smoothness to the landscape; things both weathered and new compliment each other in this environment. When I am in the mountains, I feel home.

    The jaunt down the trail is always quicker than the panting struggle of scaling up the mountain. Sleeping in the backseat of grandpa’s red jeep as he maneuvers the ear-popping drive home is where I have enjoyed some of my favorite naps.

    Once we are home, everyone retires to their bedrooms to rest or to quietly read Time or Discover magazines. A few still hours pass before granddad puts NPR back on, claps his hands together and cheerfully announces, “who wants a cocktail?” Grandma descends from her room in a pretty, soft richly colored velour outfit, showered and perfumed and wearing light, glowing makeup. She drinks something mixed with papaya juice. I’m not sure what grandpa drinks, but I like the sound of the ice cubes clinking about in his short glass.

    Soon the kitchen is filled with the glorious scents of dinner–mushrooms and cooking wines, simmering veggies and meats. Crusty loaves of bread are sliced and eaten with smears of whipped butter. Around seven we settle in and savor whatever scrumptious and healthy meal grandma has cooked. Grandpa tells us tales of his childhood in wartime England. If we are really lucky, grandma chimes in with stories of her own youth, but mainly she laughs at grandpa when he is obviously exaggerating and they put on a funny, playful show of “Dale, you’re exaggerating!” “No I’m not–it’s the bloody truth!”

    After dinner there is always coffee, and if grandma hasn’t fresh rhubarb pie to delight us with, we have ice cream. Granddad serves the desserts.

    Sometimes dinner is followed by a game, sometimes more chatting, or sometimes if something good is on television (they like stand up comedy and HBO original series), we watch it. I like it best when we play games.

    When I was really little, my mom and I lived with them and my grandma watched over me in the daytime while my mom was at work. I was allowed to roam free and be as I pleased. My grandpa would come home from work and I’d bother him while he tried to relax on his favorite chair in the living room. I loved being in their house, and since they moved to Colorado when I was six or so, I’ve always missed them like crazy. As a kid my family would take the minivan from Michigan to Colorado almost every summer to visit for two weeks, but as an adult making entry-level money I can’t say that I am able to make the trip annually. Since we moved to Chicago three and 1/2 years ago, I’ve only been able to visit once.

    Besides being fun, open minded, giving people who have the knack of treating children like human beings as opposed to little pets or subordinates, I adore my grandparents because they played a huge role in teaching me through example what have become some of my very best qualities.

    More than anything else in my life, those hikes taken with my grandma and grandpa taught me perseverance and the ability to keep my eye on the prize without ever loosing sight of how beautiful the journey is.

    My grandpa taught me the methods of superb story telling and the joy that it brings to people. My grandpa is the reason that personal narrative is the pulse of all of my art and writing. My grandpa is the reason why I married a storyteller.

    My grandma taught me adventure and the ability to push yourself farther and take good care of your body and mind. She is the practicality in me.

    While my grandma is practical, she never loses the ability to go where her heart takes her. My grandparents emigrated from England to Canada with a group of friends before they were even married. At a time when it was unheard of to do it, they lived together before their wedding. When they did marry, they were so young and fresh off the boat that they only had money enough to feed their guests bologna sandwiches at the reception. Grandma wore a blue and black dress, and my grandpa, in black-framed glasses, wore a suit and tie.

    Once they immigrated to the US and had kids, they continued to travel the world and the country–they weren’t extravagantly wealthy, but they were careful to save and plan. This sense of adventure and free spirit is happily imbued into my values.

    My grandparents are truly companions. They laugh together and discuss the world as equals. I made certain to pick a partner for myself that I could share these things.

    I often think fondly of my grandparents (although I don’t call as often as I’d like to), but their teachings came in particularly useful last weekend as Shaun and I settled into our new apartment. Since we don’t have any family nearby, and our small handful of friends were being productive members of society at work and school the Thursday we moved, we had to do it just the two of us. While we are both pretty fit people, we are by no means weight lifters. Which stinks when you are faced with shoving a couch that easily weights over 150 pounds up a flight of very narrow and awkward stairs.

    After Shaun and I struggled for ten minutes in the hot, beating sun with the beast that was our couch, my arms gave out. I was giving it all I had, but the strenuous, awful situation was more than my stick arms could handle. I was absolutely horrified as my elbows buckled and the couch came crashing down on my husband.

    The fear that I’d accidentally killed the love of my life sent a shock of adrenaline through my body and, like Superwoman, I picked the couch up and was ready to try again. Panting, sweaty, and on the brink of passing out, I had a heat-induced vision of surviving hikes with my grandparents. I dug deep inside myself and forced myself to give what I didn’t even have. A few more hefts, and a scratch and finger pinch later, the couch was safely in the apartment.

    After letting it crash to the floor, we stood, dripping with sweat and panting looking at each other in absolute awe of our great feat. The feeling was exactly like the one that accompanies reaching the destination of a 12-mile hike; I was almost giddy with disbelief that we’d pulled through and made it. My grandparents were with me in an eerie way at that moment, and I’ve not been able to stop thinking about booking a plane ticket to go out for a visit ever since.

    While the beauty of the mountains is a far better reward for exerting your body to the point of collapse than a city apartment is, I’ve got to say that I am quite pleased indeed at our new digs.

    Below are some pictures of our new pad for your viewing pleasure.


    Pretend you have just entered through the front door. Concearned and confused as to why you just came barging into Chicagoartgril23′s apartment, you call out, “Hello? Is anybody home?”


    “Welcome to our humble abode! My name is Truly and I will be your tour guide. I also happen to live here, and I have the uncanny ability to mimic a mannequin, which I am doing as we speak. This is the living room, dominated by this monster couch. Watch out–it might crush you!”


    “Oh look! Here we have the dining room. Only we haven’t a table or chairs, so we call it ‘The Study.’ The desk is new, pulled from a neighborhood dumpster just this week! You know what they say, one man’s trash is a Chicagoartgirl23′s treasure! In the dining room you can see a male specimen in his natural environment. We call him Shaun. Wave and say ‘Hi Shaun!’”


    “Here we come to a fork in the road. Bathroom or kitchen? Where to go next?”


    “Kitchen–good choice! Mmmm…Fish scented from last nights Tilapia. Who doesn’t like the smell of lingering fish?”


    “Next stop–el baño! Just look at that crispety new shower curtain that replaced last apartments mildewed nightmare! Amazing!”


    “Oh no! What’s this? An alien baby is bursting forth from the bathroom walls! Run for your lives! Ha! Actually, there’s no need to run–it’s only water damage and asbestos! The jury is still out about if that is worse than the chipping lead paint of our last apartment or not, but the landlord has promised to rip down the wall ASAP. Which knowing city landlords, may mean never! Hahahaha!”


    “Giles Alejandro Scimitar just loves his new cat house!”


    “Last stop, the bedroom. Observe the sweet old bear on the bed. We like to call him Theodore T. Bearington, or ‘Thee’ for short.”

    That’s the end of the tour, kiddies. Have a good day!
    __________________________________________________________________________________________
    How has someone you love helped you in your life?

  • Pathos has got me once again
    © The Author, 2005

    I’m lonely. Not all the time. But sometimes.

    When I’m lonely I want to invite the wholesome looking Peapod Grocery deliveryman in to tell me his life story–we’d drink chilled green tea with honey and sit on the wide windowsill and look down into the yard next door with chickens in it. When I’m lonely, I think about asking the happy middle-eastern liquor store grandpa to drink my Sierra Nevada with me and give me the low down on this neighborhood we’ve just recently moved to. The uniquely beautiful chica who was riding the el after work while carrying a thick, tall slice of cake can come over and watch reruns of Buffy the Vampire Slayer with me when I’m lonely. The grandiose flaming gentleman who got off at Damen with me–why didn’t we talk while walking the same direction for ten minutes or so? Why didn’t I call my old friend Lindsey when I was waiting to transfer at Fullerton and say, “I’m at your stop!”? Why didn’t I call my new pal Kennon and say, “Want to come over and hang out?”

    Maybe I like being lonely sometimes. Maybe I know that I’d seem psychotic, or worse, imposing.

    Sundays are the loneliest days. When Shaun was in college, we’d visit each other on sporadic weekends and Sunday it was time to part. On those chilling winter afternoons I’d crawl up inside his shirt and I wouldn’t leave. “I have to go,” he’d say. But I would pretend to be deaf and hold him tight and press my face to the skin of his warm and skinny little stomach. When he finally escaped I went home and buried myself under my heavy down blanket and could do nothing but plummet into a sad, leaden sleep. Mondays were better once they started; I always liked seeing friends at school. Wednesdays are sometimes lonely and lost feeling, drifting and uncertain. Fridays are never lonely. Saturday nights can be lonely if you are thinking too hard and driving while listening to nothing but the whoosh of the road.

    There is a difference between lonely and feeling pathetic. Turning off the ignition and watching your headlights dim is lonely. Infomercials for exercise machines make you feel pathetic. People watching can be lonely. Submitting your best short film to a film festival and being embarrassed when it is so obviously the worst thing there makes you feel pathetic. Listening to your neighbor host choir practice while you sit in your apartment and daydream of singing along is lonely.

    See? Lonely isn’t so bad–occasionally its gratifying in a self indulgent, bittersweet way. Occasionally it’s nice. If you are lucky, your lonely spell might even motivate you to do things you never thought you’d do before. I wonder if that will be the case for me.

    Do you ever get lonely out of the blue? What is it like?

  • Waiting for Godot
    © The Author, 2005

    This week has been insane. Hurricane Katrina has ravaged countless homes at the same time Shaun and I moved into a new one.

    Not only am I peeved at our government’s gross lack of response, but also I am disgusted by societies’ collective ambivalence toward the overwhelmingly black, economically disadvantaged victims of Hurricane Katrina. It seems that the only reaction that most Americans are having to Hurricane Katrina is to flip to a news station to be entertained by devastation when Everybody Loves Raymond goes to a commercial break. The human loss in New Orleans has been reduced to mail room conversation, and that makes me sick. If you’re mail room is standing around gabbing about it, then grab a box, write “donations for Katrina” on it and put it in close proximity to the gabbers. It is paramount that we shut our pie holes and move into action.

    When 9/11 happened the whole country rallied together to assist. There were blood drives, a shit load of benefit concerts, restaurant specials where part of the proceeds went to helping the situation, food and water drives, ribbons to buy–you name it, the country was at its feet to come through. It makes my heart break that the victims of Katrina are not only shit on by their government, but the people of this country only seem able to watch their misery without once getting off their ass to help. It is disgusting.

    I am too weary from moving and in too much of a rampage over the societal and governmental neglect that the victims of Hurricane Katrina is facing to write an articulate essay that explores the full breadth of this, but blogger Tims Head did a kick ass job of it. Please visit Tim’s Head’s site (the link is on my subscriptions) and read his eloquent Saturday post about our country’s hideous non-response to Katrina.

    A good site to find out ways you & your friends can pitch in: http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=4826789