March 21, 2010

  • day in the life

    Shaun is on contract in an office now on a three-month contract writing traning manuals, in addition to freelancing. I’m at work, back in the marketing department with a flex-schedule. Here’s what a day-in-the-life of our two-income, one baby (she’ll be 7 months old on the 29th) household looks like at the moment:

    4-ish-5am: Babykins calls out for her dad from the nursery: “waaa!” She wants him to pluck her from her crib and snuggle her next to me in the big bed. There, she falls back to sleep and has a “dream feed” while I half-sleep. She must drink a gallon, for when I wake up my boobs are so grotesquely lopsided that I’ve got to pump the other side to fit into my bra for the day.

    5-5:30: Dad slips sleeping Lila back into her crib and goes back to bed. I pump and eat breakfast, usually oatmeal and tea.

    5:30-6:35: Get myself ready for the work: shower, hair, makeup, outfit.

    6:35: Slip into the nursery and put on Beethoven for Babies and turn on the light. I pick out an outfit for her and lay it out for Shaun. Lila likes to wake up this way, gradually. I leave her to wake and set about packing up her daycare bag and my work bag and pump supplies for the day.

    6:40: Lila is playing happily in her crib. Shaun goes in to say, “Do I hear a wake-d up baby in here?” In response, Lila gives us a super nova smile.

    6:40-6:50: Shaun gets Lila ready for the day—morning diaper, outfit, nose suctioning, washcloth to the crusty face—while I unload the dishwasher. Well, I’m supposed to be unloading the dishwasher, but sometimes I’m running late due to over-snoozing and am still brushing my teeth at this point.

    6:50: Lila goes in the front carrier and I walk her and all our bags out to the car. We load up and we’re on our way with NPR to keep us informed.

    Sometime between 7:20 and 7:30, depending on traffic: Arrive at daycare. If it’s nice and we arrive closer to 7:20, Lila and I have a quick walk around the park across the street from daycare. We look at the doggies and the birds and the high school baseball players having morning practice. The sun rises over the city, making everything shine.

    7:30: Sign in to daycare and feed Lila her breakfast; we nurse in a big comfy chair in the corner.

    7:50: “Mama’s going to work now so you can play with Lauren, Misty, and all of your friends! See you at dinner time. Then we’ll go home to snuggle with Daddy! Have a good day! Love you! Bye-bye!”

    8 am: Clock in to work.

    8-10: work, work, work.

    10: Obscond to lacatation room to pump. Pump. Back upstairs to stash milk in fridge.

    10:30 -12:30: work, work, work. Eat lunch at desk.

    12:30-1am: pump again.

    1-3: work, work, work.

    3-3:30: pump.

    3:30-4: finish up projects for the day, make “to-do” list for tomorrow.

    4pm: Clock out.

    4:20: “Lila, look whose here!” She sees me and smiles a huge smile before lunging at my chest with her mouth wide open, trying to latch on to me through my shirt. We nestle into our chair and nurse a before we leave for home.

    4:30–5:10: Try to get home before traffic gets heinous. Lila likes to listen to the radio and “sings along” (aka: squeals and babbles) to Jay Sean, Black Eyed Peas, Miley Cyrus’ Party in the U.S.A. While I can’t say that I enjoy this music, I can see why babies like it: these songs are simple, repetitive, with a strong beat. Lila also likes Sigur Ros, Camera Obscura, and Kate Nash, so there are some music tastes we share. For the car, though, it’s XRT.

    5:10-5:50: We chill in the nursery chair where Lila cluster-feeds (nursing) and naps in my snuggle.

    5:50: Daddy’s home! Lila wakes at the sound of Shaun’s keys in the door and gets super awake and smiley all of a sudden.

    5:50-6:15 Shaun and Lila play and do diapering while I whip up a super quick meal/re-heat leftovers/retrieve crock-pot something or other.

    6:15-6:30: We scarf dinner while feeding Lila a bit of some baby-type mushy food.

    6:30-7:30: Abandon diner dishes and play. If it’s nice out, we go for a walk to the lake and back; Shaun wears babykins in the front carrier. If it’s crappy out, we play inside on the baby blanket, read stories, sing songs.
     
    7:30-8pm: I give baby her bath, night diaper, vitamins, nose suctioning while Shaun picks up the dinner dishes. Shaun sets up the nursery humidifier and puts Sigur Ros on (for some reason, she LOVES to sleep to this music, eventhough I’d think it’s a bit too rockin’ for night-night time).

    8pm: Nurse babykins to sleep. Shaun starts his other shift as freelance writer at this time, sometimes he goes to the cafe next door, sometimes the couch is more appealing.

    8:30: I’m usually so pooped and relaxed at this point that I’ve fallen asleep in the chair with the baby and wake up at this point with a stiff neck. I slip baby into her crib where she slumbers like a little angel.

    8:30-9:30: I pick up the house, pay bills, prep dinner for the following night, make lunches for the next day, and try to keep general chaos at bay.

    9:30: No more work. I stop everything, get my ass ready for bed and read a bit.

    10pm: Lights out.

    11-midnight-ish: Shaun usually is finishing up his freelance projects for the night and rolls into bed.

    2am: Lila wants to eat. Nurse and back to sleepy time.

    Do it all again.

    ***

    EDIT: Oops. Didn’t mean to hit “publish” so soon. Here’s what I meant to add:

    Our schedule–the night-time routine, especially—took a long time to get good at. We used to have to rock/soothe babykins to sleep FOREVER until we fell into a weird routing where she crashed for an hour at 7pm, only to wake and want to be “plugged in” (aka: attached to my boobs) from 8-11pm. We let it happen and gradully she got the idea that bedtime was a peaceful, nice thing (we didn’t have the spine to Ferberize; plus we live in an apartment with very thin walls and a wailing baby just isn’t neighborly). She’s been going down to bed easy as pie (knock on wood) for the past two months or so now.

    Also, the driving-to-work, daycare, Shaun-in-an-office thing is very new. We’ve only been doing this for about six weeks or so. It took all of us a while to get used to the whole daycare thing (the first week was HORRIFIC emotionally, financially, and logistically—baby’s schedule was turned completely upside down which made her sad/crazy and subsequently made Shaun and I sad/crazy). Things are good now, though (or as good as they can be given that daycare is never exactly an ideal solution).

    The daycare next door to us (an in-home place that our neighbor runs for up to six neighborhood babies at a time) has an opening in early April, so we’ll be switching there shortly. Although I dread going through another rough transition of Lila getting used to a new caregiver/schedule, we’re going to save a TON (nearly $250/month) just by me being able to walk Lila next door to daycare and simply take the subway to work again. Right now, where our current daycare is located, public transit isn’t really a feasibly option.

    Am I happy? Yes. Am I tired? Sometimes. But it feels like we’re working hard and creating something better for ourselves day by day. I wish we had more time together, but the time we do have is fun. Lila’s got a great sense of humor—her default is cuddly and laughing. I love our family walks in the evening; it’s so nice to chat and laugh with Shaun and get some fresh air and just take a little break from the grind. Plus, there’s always the weekends. Weekends are where it’s at. ;)
    ________________________________________________________________________________
    What’s your schedule like?

Comments (5)

  • Oh man you figured out your password. :)

    Gosh that is a busy busy busy day.

    My daily schedule is so non packed it’s ridiculous. My sunday’s are hectic.

    I get up at 730. Shower, get dressed, comb out my hair, I’m usually rushing so my hair remains a dripping wet mess, I put a clip or a bobbypin and get my stuff and head to church.

    Get there at 9. Have a teacher’s meeting.

    10 get my little dancers together. Practice the songs with them, teach them choreography and make sure they know what they’re doing.

    1030ish get my table together for my class make sure the stage lights are on and set, get the sound ready, put the music on.

    11ish get on stage welcome all the kids, give a word, pray and start worship. I leave the baby dancers and head to the back where I do the dancing so they can watch me in case they get lost. We do 3 songs, I run back on stage and split up the classes for attendance and stuff.

    Go back do 2 more songs. Announce the teacher who’ll be giving the class.

    1230ish get back on stage announce craft time.

    Take my kids do my craft with them, go over the lesson. Talk to my kids, they tell about their baby lives and we have snack.

    1ish we play games, sing and dance and ayt 130ish their parents finally mosey on over. talk to the parents and hand them back their kid.

    2 finish cleaning up.

    230 go to play rehearsal.

    5 go home and collapse because I’ve pretty much been standing all day.

  • Hi! Sounds like life is good for y’all. What a sweet age 7months is. I loved reading your schedule. I would really enjoy having a schedule like that.
    Does Lila love her wall mural? I still have that link bookmarked, it is so cute.
    My schedule is inconsistent. I have the boys here at home on every Wed. & Thurs. overnights and every other Fri. Sat. Sun. overnights.J. works 24 on, 48 off, except if he was scheduled to work on Tuesday,
    he has that day off too, which adds a little twist now and then.
    Sometimes he’s here for days, other times he hangs out at his house. Usually when he gets off work on a Thursday or Friday morning he heads over here and drives the little boys to school for me. The school is only a few blocks away. They take turns driving and riding shotgun. The driver gets to “drive” J’s little truck, the shotgun hangs out the window and spits sunflower seeds.
    I have 2 classes that meet on Mondays, one that meets Tuesdays and Thursdays, I meet with my painting professor on Thursdays in the afternoon and I paint when I can get into my studio… until mid April.
    After that I have one class in July every day for three weeks to begin graduate classwork towards a reading endorsement.
    After that it’ll be Fall and major upheaval study wise (these last two semesters have been cake) I’m taking way more intense coursework in the Fall.
    After Fall is Spring, and student teaching, which is going to be scary!
    After that I graduate, take one more summer class, and hopefully plop right into the most perfect combination of teaching K-12 Art with a little reading here and there. If I don’t find a job, I’ll substitute and tutor and take a few art students.

    I have been working on a new blog! All the fun I have with the boys plus some artsy stuff: http://wainwrightsanslofti.blogspot.com/

  • What a busy day! Once upon a time I had days like that… you have your priorities straight, putting play above dishes. Schedules are ALWAYS in flux. What is most important is being aware of what the needs are, and adapting the schedule as needs and abilities change. You two are so smart to schedule some fun in each day.

    We spent the weekend with our baby, celebrating her acceptance into graduate school… wow. Our kid will be in a PhD program at McGill. I’m bursting with happiness and pride, and her ability to made goals and achieve them.

  • I also love falling to sleep to sigur ros. me and snugs should get together and have a sleep over. she old enough to have pillow fights induced by massive sugar highs?

  • It sounds wonderful in an exhausting and inspirational kind of way. I wonder if people who are not as fit as you could manage this schedule. I hope the transition to the new sitter is an easy one. Saving that kind of scratch is going to help defray the things to come.

    I wish my mother had considered the music we listened too. I might be a more avid fan of it now.

    My schedule pleases me best when I don’t have one. The only thing that is regular is my work days from up to end of school but even as the last bell rings it is anybody’s guess what will be done next. I like it this way. Tiny unpredictability I can handle!  And we have spring break coming up soon. I have a list of chores to accomplish and that will be my only schedule limitation.

    Perhaps if I were more limited I would be more disciplined with my time!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *