Month: November 2009

  • Three Year Goals

    By 2013, here’s a few things [aside from being a good mother, happy spouse, good friend, family, and community member] that I want to have happening in my life:
     
    * Back to School
    Ever since discovering my [sorry to be cheesy here] true calling to teach, I’ve known that I need to get my butt back to school for my teaching certificate. I want to be enrolled somewhere and taking classes by Lila’s third birthday.

    Why the three year timeline?
    –>I love my job, but it has a lifespan. I don’t ever want to feel it’s tedium more than it’s joy. This will happen if I wait too long.
    –>Without a fine arts/art history degree, I have little growth potential in my current position. And as much as I love art, my passion for it is as a living, breathing, PUBLIC entity. I don’t get a thrill from it in books or theory, making me a poor candidate for pursuing my education in that arena.
    –>It was Shaun and I’s plan that we would take turns continuing our education—that’s why we were in Scotland, after all. And while there is no expiration date on my capacity and desire to learn, I’ve been    itching for “my turn” for a few years now.
    –> By the time Lila starts first grade, it would be great if my work schedule matched her school schedule.
    –> I don’t want to stop at being a teacher. I want to grow into a good policy maker and eventually open       my own educational not-for-profit center for writing and the arts. I need to take the first step to let the           rest unfold.
         
    Challenges:
    –> Money. The recession has had not a small impact on our family. With a bail out from our families         and Shaun working ’round the clock to make his end of ends meet on a freelance writer’s earnings,               we’ve been able to keep our heads above water. But adding the expense of tuition at the moment seems laughable. Student loans are an option. We’ve always used them before and never regretted it.
     –> Flexibility. My current job is not flexible. I am on duty when the museum is open—in fact I am the one who opens and closes it. The job requires me to work nights and weekends. A job with more             flexibility to accommodate my new family life and my schooling would be a HUGE help in striking a    critical balance.

    Why am I thinking of this now?
    Yesterday, my old boss in the marketing department spoke to me about coming back to her department. The position would be a step back for me, but the pay and benefits would be the same and she said she could offer huge amounts of flexibility. No more nights. No more weekends. I wouldn’t hate the actual work, but I wouldn’t love it. Taking a step back in one area seems strange, but is it if I am doing so to grow in other areas? I don’t know if this is the best or the worst time for me to be making decisions like this—arguments could be made for both. But conversations are flowing. This is making me revisit myself in a way I’ve not done in a while and in a way that, frankly, scares me. I wish I had a more linear life, one driven less by “vision.” But I’m not like that. And I’ve had a lot of fun along the way.
    __________________________________________________________________________________
    What do you think about taking a step back to clear some room for growth? Ever had to do it?