Month: June 2008

  • I Heart New York!

    I’m in New York this weekend, visiting friends who are visiting from Scotland.

    About the friends:

    • Originally from England, we met Dan and Bryony in Scotland; Dan and Shaun were in the same Master’s program at Glasgow University.
    • Dan is a fiction writer who works at a university.
    • Bryony is his partner and is the single most organized person on earth.
    • Susie, who is also staying with us this weekend, was also in the creative writing program and is originally from Boston.
    • Shaun has been away in Montreal for work this weekend, but he comes back today, just in time for PRIDE!
    • I go back to Chicago Tuesday morning.

    This is the last time I’ll be in the city for the foreseeable future. And as much as living here was the pits, visiting has been a RIOT! This has much to do with the fact that I’m hanging out with some of my favorite people on earth.

    Friday
    After having only slept 3 hours and eaten once in the past 24 hours (insane flight delays, cab shortage, crazy long lock out story), I wanted nothing more than to bury myself in a hot stack of banana pancakes. Dan and Bryony obliged and after a dangerously huge breakfast, we ran through the kiddie fountains in Fort Tyron park and generally milled about the hood.

    The rest of the day took us for a wonder through Midtown, an afternoon at MoMA (where I napped in the sculpture garden), and a pitcher of sangria at Georgios Country Grill.

    Pics from our daytime adventures:


    Bryony and I are sad when we wear Buzz Lightyear on our heads. Actually, I get sad. B looks a little frightened. This is at the Disney Store on 5th Avenue.


    Dan, however, loves Buzz.


    We also made Mr. Potato heads at the Disney Store. Mine is the pimp. Bryony’s is the Ho. Dan’s is our pet alien.

    At MoMA, there was this great installation in the 3rd floor atrium. It was a fan on a dangling cord, powering itself to fly willy-nilly all over the place. It was a hit with everyone, but kids especially loved chasing it around.

    After dinner, we experienced craziest thing of the day: Pinkberry. Imagine trying to get a business loan based on the following pitch:

    Pinkberry. It’s a frozen yougert shop with the look and feel of NYC’s hottest night club. There’s music pumping, designer lighting and furniture, and best of all: only three flavors.

    Plain, Green Tea, and Coffee.

    We call Plain “Pinkberry.” Not because its pink or berry flavored. But because we think frozen yougert and we think flirty. We think fresh. We think fun. Funkilicious. Something so cold it’s hot.

    And if that’s not enough (we know, it isn’t), there’s a shitload of cereal you can dump atop it. And a few berries. And expensive design-wear for sale on a wall.

    Swirl on in, you know? Swirl the fuck in.

    Needless to say, we went wild in Pinkberry. We had no idea what we were walking into really, which made it all the more hilarious. This video is of one of our tamer moments at Pinkberry. It is also sideways for a while. Its actually not that entertaining, nor does it capture the true horrific rapture of Pinkberry. But I love it and its my blog so here it goes:

    As if you’ve not heard enough, here are some pictures:

    This is my favorite ever picture of D+B.


    This picture explains everything.

    Me+B


    I swear to god I’m not being paid by Pinkberry. It really was this fun. And not in an entirely ironic way. This pitcher of sangria may have helped. So if you go ever, make sure to do a bit of drinking first. And don’t sleep for a few days. Otherwise, in the naked light of day, it might just be sad.

    Saturday
    Yesterday, we met up with our friend Susie at the Figment Festival on Govener’s Island.

    The festival was fantastic. The festival is a free “celebration of particapatory art and creative culture.” There’s DJs mixing along the bike path, hula hoops, kiddie pools filled with flower petals to throw and roll around in, sidwalk chalk, creation stations, live bands and lawn dancing, yoga, pet turtles, and lots more. We had a great time and did a lot of hula.

    As you can see, I’m about as bad at Hula as you can get. But I like it anyway.


    This is my favorite ever picture of Susie. It basically sums her up nicely.


    Chit chat


    I love this tiny crowd! So much lawn!


    Walkin’ around.

    Somebody brought their pet turtle. It was so fast! Really! I thought they were supposed to move slowly, but this one raced around on his crazy little legs. Turtle was a big hit.


    This big doughnut thing was for climbing all over. It ruled.

    This is a pool full of rose petals. As Susie says: “If my kid didn’t look cute in that pool, I’d take them back. Obviously defective. This is adorable.”

    After Figment, we walked across the Brooklyn Bridge and got ice cream at the Brooklyn Ice Cream Factory.

    Brooklyn Bride. Which is not relaxing to walk across, by the way. There are cars roaring past on either side of you and the air is thick with gross smog.

    Peeps


    We all scream.

    Right after this picture was taken, we were caught up in a thunderstorm. Serious wetness. We were instantly soaked through and through. Big fat drops of rain fell from the sky, thunder and lightening were crashing down all around us. It was God’s way of punishing us for eating frozen treats at somewhere other than Pinkberry.

    I love our friends. And New York. What a fun fun place to visit. 

  • Scotland & Shingles

    I’m gonna answer the Xanga Featured Question today: Where were you are year ago today?

    A year ago today, I was in Scotland. The nationwide design festival I worked for had just wrapped up seven days before. Shaun had just won a young authors festival reading in Edinburgh. My stepdad Tony was in town with his lady friend Cheryl.  And I had shingles.

    Here is a funny snippet from a blog entry I wrote on the last Tuesday of June 2007:

    Saturday, I noticed a series of red bumps on my upper left thigh and showed them
    to Shaun with fascinated disgust; I thought I must have rolled over a
    spider in the night and in a struggle to live, Mr. Spider attacked my
    leg with bites. I hoped to soon notice super-powers emerging; the
    agility of an insect and the ability to shoot web out of my wrists. But
    then Sunday rolled around and instead of feeling like Spider Woman, I
    felt like I had a hang over, which is never a fun feeling but it
    especially sucks when you’ve not even had anything to drink the night
    before. The bites were swelling and turning purple-ish; the left side
    of my abdomen waned puffy, swollen and tender. “Must be some sort of
    allergic reaction to Scottish spiders combined with some gnarly
    menstrual cramps,” I thought. I slathered bug bite cream on my leg,
    took an ibuprofen, and spent much of the day napping. It hurt to walk.

    Monday
    rolled around and the bumps seemed scabbier. That’s a good sign, right?
    I limped to work. Since my job is so sedentary lately, the day was
    fine. Except the bits where I had to walk; then it felt like someone
    was stabbing me in the tender, node-laden place where the front of my
    left leg joins my body. Ouchie. I fell to a fitful sleep at 7.30pm.

    Today
    I woke up and called my doctor. My leg/abdomen hurt like a mutha, with
    the added fun of the chills, sweats, a migraine, and real live
    menstrual cramps. I described my problem to the GP over the phone and
    was whisked to an emergency appointment; not an easy thing to do when
    using National Healthcare.

    The doctor looked at my leg and said, “Those aren’t bites. Those are shingles.”
     
    I just answered this Featured Question, you can answer it too!

  • Everything in its house

    Last weekend I was in NYC to see my husband and his visiting parents. I know that I compartmentalize things, but I hadn’t realized how much I’d done so with this separation from my husband until last weekend.

    I’ve been noticing more than a few new footprints on my site from new readers, so it might be worthwhile to stop a minute and explain my situation. If you’ve been a long time reader, apologies for the redundancy.

    My husband and I moved to NYC last October. We were returning stateside from a year living in Scotland. Usually we live in Chicago, although we were both born and raised in the same hometown in Michigan (we were friends, then sweethearts in high school). We’d never lived in NYC before, but thought we’d give it a go. While it was a great career move for my husband (he works in publishing), it was taxing in many other critical ways.

    Firstly, NYC was so expensive that we had to work so many jobs just to keep our heads above water; we are accustomed to saving a large portion of our earnings for travel, emergencies, grad school, and the baby we’re planning on before I turn 30 (I’m 26). But saving in Manhattan is a laughable endeavor. We felt lucky just to make rent every month and pay bills.

    Not only were we unable to feel comfortable with our finances, but the multiple jobs were harrowing. We simply didn’t have time for our evening walk, frisbee, staging living room readings of our favorite plays, and doing fun little collaborative writing projects together. We felt lucky just to eat a meal together once in a while. We needed to change our habitat and reclaim our lives.

    We are currently living apart for a few months as we transition our lives from Manhattan back to Chicago, a city we’ve always loved and feels like home. Practicalities and fiscal responsibility have him wrapping up life in New York and I setting up life in Chicago. And while I planned on missing my husband for the few months we were going to be apart, I figured it wouldn’t be much different than how much I’ve missed him all year. But it is.

    I once heard a radio story about cuddle clubs. These are clubs in major cities where single people go to cuddle. They are not sex clubs. In fact, many people go to them to save themselves from casual sex, since lots of people find that they are only having casual sex to fulfill a need for human touch. While I get the need for touch, I don’t think I fully understood it until Shaun wrapped me up in a hug to greet me. I felt every nerve in my body and cried.

    Up until Shaun’s hug, I hadn’t really missed him. I called him on my way to work to say good morning. He called every evening to say goodnight. We texted, emailed, chatted in the day. I sent funny snail mail. We’ve stayed very connected. Probably more so than when we were living in NYC together and simply falling into bed exhausted every night.

    Plus, I was having a blast rooming with my best girlfriend, reconnecting with and making new Chicago friends, riding my bike to work, and running along my beloved lakeshore path every morning. I started a new job that I find extraordinarily rewarding at the museum that I used to work at, a museum that truly is a home to me. There was gallery hopping, opening night parties for new exhibitions, a new 1950′s skirt and a pair of vintage wedge shoes from my favorite resale shop, a fresh haircut at my favorite salon. I have a rich and busy life here, but at the same time, a lot of personal space; I’ve found this pace to be unique to Chicago. One day I’ll find a way to articulate it better, but I know that it is true.

    Anyhow, I simply didn’t miss Shaun. But when he folded me up in his arms last week, I did. All at one. In a flood of tears.

    My writing compartmentalizes things less. My subconscious bleeds into it. Three days after I moved back to Chicago, I started writing a story about apocalyptic love. I’ve never written a love story before, let alone a sexy one. My story is more along the lines of Walker Percy’s Love in the Ruins than Bridget Jones‘ Diary, but it is love and sex nonetheless. So obviously the two things were on my mind.

    Anyhow, we had a great time together in NYC. Shaun’s parents loathed the city and our apartment and our lives in general (they want Shaun to give up on his career as a writer, get a corporate job, move in next door to them in the Michigan suburbs, and have loads of babies that I stay at home with. We’d both rather die than do any of those things.), but we ignored their negativity to the best of our ability and enjoyed their good moments. Because they really are loving, beautiful people underneath all their worry and uncertainty. It just takes them a while to get them limbered up and accepting.

    On Friday, we met Shaun after work for drinks/small plates at the Zipper Factory and a walk through Central Park. On Saturday, we stayed in our neighborhood and visited the Dykman Farmhouse before lunching at the farmer’s market, followed by a walk through Manhattan’s last remaining forest.

    It felt so good just to do little things for family. I made a great pizza for Friday’s lunch. I baked blueberry muffins for Saturday’s breakfast. I liked making Shaun’s coffee. I like knowing exactly how much milk and sugar he likes. I like knowing which mug is his.

    I also like how Shaun remembers when I offhandedly mention something I’d like to read and then secretly orders the book for me. He always makes sure that I have a quiet little pile of reading material stacked neatly on my desk.  

    Anyhow, it was hard to have all the heartache come pouring out at once, but it was really good too. Its not healthy to compartmentalize things like that. Its not healthy to compartmentalize most things, but its hard to learn how to be that efficient while still being “whole.” I’m learning, though. Slow and steady.
    _________________________________________________________________________________
    Do you compartmentalize things?

  • Everything that begins as comedy ends as a blog entry

    I’m nearly finished with The Savage Detectives by Roberto Bolano. The book takes form, flips it upside down and shakes it. The story is told in part journal-entry, part interviews. Near the end of the book, the following statements cap off each interview. When put together, the statements form a poem of sorts. (Bolano himself identified with being more of a poet than a novelist–and the book is about poets–so this device is fitting and wonderful.)

    Here are the statements from the book, in order:
    1.) Everything that begins as a comedy ends as a tragedy (pg 513).
    2.) Everything that begins as comedy inevitably ends as comedy (pg 514).
    3.) Everything that begins as comedy ends as a cryptographic exercise (pg 516).
    4.) Everything that begins as comedy ends as a horror movie (pg 519).
    5.) Everything that begins as comedy ends as a triumphal march, wouldn’t you say? (pg 521).
    6.) Everything that begins as comedy inevitably ends as mystery (pg 524).
    7.) Everything that begins as comedy ends as a dirge in the void (pg 526).
    8.) Everything that begins as comedy ends as a comic monologue, but we aren’t laughing anymore (pg 526).

    Q.) Which statement do you like best? Which do you identify with most? Which one makes you laugh?

    Personally, #4 makes me laugh every time I look at it but none of the statements hold any truth for me. I’d say:

    What begins as tragedy ends as comedy (because nothing ever begins as comedy. This is the stink-hole of humanity that we’re born into after all).

    I might also phrase it:

    Everything that begins as tragedy stays as tragedy until you realize how funny it is.

    Q.) What’s your take?